You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Math of Steem - how much curation does DTube pay out?

in #steem6 years ago

I read somewhere recently that besides the 25% for curators, Dtube takes a comission for using its service, I'm not sure how it works but the person who wrote that article said that if that's the case, maybe is more convenient to upload the videos in youtube and later put the links in a regular steemit post. I don't know, I haven't do the maths involved as you did so if you look into it later I'll be waiting for your conclusions.

Sort:  

I read somewhere recently that besides the 25% for curators, Dtube takes a comission for using its service

I don't believe this is true. I don't use DTube but there's no mechanism for that that I'm aware of. I think they were talking about the same 25%.

Of course if you want to pay that extra curation it's your choice. A DTube post that pays out 25% curation in the blockchain system has a total of 43.75% going to total curation and only 56.25% to the author.

Yes i was talking about the 25% taken from the 75% of the author rewards, so in total is 43.75% in curation. Now I remember the post I read was from tarazkp who just commented here a few minutes ago. I think you wrote recently that you were against the idea of 50% for author and 50% for curators because that could discourage the small acounts to post, I think 43.75% for cutation and 56.25% for authors is colese to that.

I'm definitely against increasing the rewards under the current blockchain curation algorithm, because it is strongly weighted in favor of larger votes and serves to concentrate wealth. DTube's is a little different, though. I think there might be room for a compromise increasing curation rewards under a model that rewards participation over stake.

that's a valid point

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64092.96
ETH 3145.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88