You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem - CORE PRODUCT VALUE and the A-HA moment

in #steem5 years ago

I challenge your example about community. I acknowledge the point, but I don't think anyone is misrepresenting steem when they say "stay for the community". Whoever wrote that doesn't understand what community means. But yes, community is not integral to what steem is. To sum what you said, Steem witnesses host information in Steem's innovative blockchain.
That's all, but that's like saying, computers are a series of switches that can turn on and off. That's all. But we can see how much people can do with "that's all".

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

The point is an interesting one. I love many people I have met here, dare I say I love 'the community' here. But is that scaleable? Or is that just because interesting outcasts have found themselves cast together on this chain? What if 1 million more people arrive? What if 1 billion more people arrive? Is community enough when normies run the place?

Think about blaming computers for reddit users being jerks, or for facebook being centralized. No, they are just a series of switches! Ones and zeros bro! We build the future!

So, when we are trying to get down to CPV - I might have been a little harsh on some of the more beloved aspects of steem. But read again that comment I posted. Someone actually said that to me - someone misled about the nature of steem.

Ever since I joined, I keep hearing about community... yea, right... I've supported many people on this fucking site, including you... I write a post, you fucking well don't support me, so fuck you, fuck steem.

If someone were to build a community, say Punday Monday (or any number of other great ones), ON STEEM, that is so great - I support that 100%. But we need to clearly communicate our Core Product Value to new users, and ourselves.

Come to host your content, stay for the great communities built therein.

Betwixt clarity and brevity lies a barren wasteland.

Posted using Partiko Android

Its so true hahaha, but I think I will do a multiple series posts on this, hopefully get a lot of input from great users and builders like you and others, and continue to develop this idea.

At the risk of beating a dead horse, each community can advertise its greatness, its rewards etc. But to get people to an AHA moment about steem requires being very clear about our Core Product Value.

Yes. I agree with you. But you asked us to challenge you, and that's why I said what I did. I think the perspective in that comment is not one that follows from "come for the crypto, stay for the community". That user may have had someone say something else, too, but not just that.

The real reason that phrase doesn't work for me, is that there are lots of places on the internet with good community. It's not special to steem. I do credit @freewritehouse with getting me to write a novel, though, and no other platform has done that, and I think it's the tiny amount of money that is the extra nudge that made it a habit. Also that people actually read it.

Posted using Partiko Android

Also, yeah, no, I'm saying that the commenter lacks an understanding of community. He wasn't misled. He had some belief that community meant cash, and that's simply not a reasonable understanding of the word.

Posted using Partiko Android

Ah, yes, well that's probably true. This comment affected me, and so I decided to include it in all its crude reality.

I think it was a hurtful comment, but I have heard it said that 'hurting people hurt people'. There are a lot of things to respond to him, and as I have sponsored him in SBI, I took the opportunity to remind him that, technically, I had supported him on that post :)

True. There's lots of hurt in the world, but I doubt you're responsible for his hurt. My experience with you is that you are a conscientious and kind man.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63701.36
ETH 3076.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81