Dance!

in #steem6 years ago

I've always admired Michael Jackson... Let's just say he was the 2nd most influential dancer in my life... By the way, my stage name is "Impulse".

This post would be about how I was introduced to Animation and my role models in dance.

... I've always known how to dance, I guess it runs in the family because everyone can dance.
Dad doesn't really dance energetically again although he used to dance quite well in the University 🤣🤣🤣(I guess age and the pot belly😂🤷‍♂️)
Mom is well known when we attend events and church because all eyes go to her when its time to dance. She dances so well that people comment after the programs.
My 3 sisters dance too.
Then me...

I really can't pinpoint the exact time I started dancing but I've been evolving all the while. At my primary school, I was in the native dance troupe, at my Secondary school level, I was part of the Tribute to Michael Jackson dance.
It really started for me at my first University, Unilag.
I was just sitting by myself,4years ago, all bored,when a good friend of mine, Dominic; came to show me a dance video.

Let's just say it changed my Life!

It was titled Need Your Heart (Adventure Club) by Nonstop. Nonstop was the dancer. I practically watched the video more than 4 times at that sitting. The dance video is still on YouTube. This guy was sooooo good I decided and knew I was going to end up dancing like this guy😂.
Overtime, I watched this video more times than I could count until every sound, every beat, every dance move, every rise and fall of this video was engrained in me... I could repeat every step he did, perfectly...
It was how I learnt Animation first-hand. I never knew it was called Animation(I used to call it "Breakdance"😂) until I researched Marquese "Nonstop" Scott as he was the main pioneer. He mixed popping, miming, slow motion, waving, gliding and other dance moves to his own interpretation. His other video "Pumped Up Kicks" blew the YouTube community.
Animation is pretty much still young and developing and as a result, only a few can teach the basics and the rest is left to the dancer. There is no established Dance School that teaches Animation in my Country; Nigeria.
As a result of teaching myself this Dance Style, I'm what you call a Self-Taught Dancer.
Self Taught Dancers are looked down upon in this country😓😓. It is believed that if you don't go to any dance school, the Dance School "attendees" tell you that you are not as good as they are... IMAGINE!!!!
I develop myself by dancing everyday,anywhere and going for Dance Competitions, interacting with other dancers too.
I WIN SOME, I LOSE SOME... It's not possible to win all... It's Life. And it actually drives me to dance harder, improving myself and pushing myself above my limits...
As a result, I have shifted bones, muscle pains/irritations that come after a performance or dance and goes after a while. These don't stop me because I've got PASSION! 20180530_080432.jpg
The HAPPINESS, SMILES, LAUGHTER, I cause my audience and watchers is well enough for me and it drives me, keeps me going...💪🏽💥🔥 You can see watch of my Dance videos on(Don't forget to Subscribe 😉) YouTube: IMPULSE M, and Instagram: @_munius ...
So, let's go on to my role models and the Dancers thst made me what I am :

*Marquese "Nonstop" Scott
*Michael Jackson
*Les Twins
*P-Square
*Blu-Print
*Fikshun , to mention a few...

I am a strong and firm Believer that Anybody Can Dance, It Is The Steps To The Styles That Is Learnt. Dance Cannot Be Taught, It Is The Steps That Is Taught.
DANCE, IS MUSIC MADE VISIBLE.
DANCE, IS THE LANGUAGE OF THE SOUL.
DANCE, IS MY LIFE.
I AM AN ANIMATOR. I AM DANCE.
I. AM. IMPULSE!!!

Sort:  

Congratulations @impulse-moses! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65262.74
ETH 2937.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68