You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Attention Steem Holders: Did the VICE snapshot of the steem blockchain just happen?

in #steem6 years ago

I'd say that's some good news right there.

Question: how does one collect their portion?

Do you have to have a VICE wallet, or does it become part of our Steem account? Email notification? You don't know? Read the whitepaper? Lol.

Thanks for sharing the news! :)

Sort:  

That I do not know. I would imagine it will be similar to what happened with bitcoin and bitcoin cash. Where exactly you collect it if you hold all your steem in your steem wallet on steemit though, I do not know.

Right. I did read the whitepaper (quickly). It doesn't say anything about how (or when) the airdrop will occur.

I'll post about it or at least send you a .oo1 sbd message if I come across any info.

Thank you. I will do a post about it when I find out as well.

i mean do i need to hold steem power ?or steem dollars ? to get this airdrop ?

It should be for any steem owners. (Steem power is also steem so that would count as well). SBD probaby not

Just be careful using your Steem keys on any unknown website or app...

I think this will help: Chang your password on steemit first after any share drop (then any other share drops like golos that have the old password) then make a claim. It is better if you can claim using the active key and don't have to use your master password or owner key..

One more thing: never delete a private key

Good advice. Just changed mine.

Were Steemians had a share of the Airdropped Golos tokens or are you just giving an example?

We were, yes. Only accounts before a certain date with a certain minimum Steem Power however.

Your account has some.

https://golos.io/@urbanoid/transfers

Ha! Thanks to this, I just found out I have a little Golos.

how do I check if I have some golos or some freebies? and how can withdraw if I do have some?

Your account is too new. However, you could check by visiting http://golos.io/@carwilva . If you had some Golos you'd see an account page there.

yes I guess I don't , my act is like 5 4 months , thanks for the info anyways cheers

Hey Demo, do you know what the cut off actually was? Like "the July" account creation date probably?

Edit. Shudang... I did not benefit haha...

I'm sure it is on the original Golos announcement posts, if you can find those. I think it was close to Steemfest 1.

First time I heard of this and tried to check mine. Some figures there but I guess no use to me. Cannot figure out the Cyrillic script. LOL.

Yes, that is great advice!

Very good advice. Thanks for the warning.

and by be careful you mean
DO NOT DO IT!

Unfortunately we’re on block 18,500,000; not 18,500. With 3 second block times the snapshot was of Steem about 15 hours after the chain launched and is rewarding only founders.
I was disappointed by this, as well as the fact that Vice is starting its own chain and not an SMT.

To be fair, I do harbor the hope that it is a typo in the Vice white paper. 18,500,000 does correspond in time very well to the beginnings of their token launch - which may be no coincidence.

(Sorry if I’m replying a bit oddly, I’ll admit I did jump in here for visibility of the info!😬)

I thought typo the entire time. Has Ned or any of the other founders commented on this at all?

I’ve never seen any official mention or commentary. I’m hoping typo, but it does make sense if it is meant to target Steem founders. We’ll see!

Yes I could see it making sense either way. Though, it would be a major bummer if that is "all" steem got out of a deal that will ultimately birth a competitor...

Oh man. Talk about missing the vital stats in the excitement. It says it right there in the whitepaper too. It's not a typo on the article here. It does seem like a hard typo to make. Big difference in zeros.

Block 18500 was way back in March 2016 before the paper was written, so that makes no sense.

Those are my thoughts as well.

We can hold out a little hope! Vice lists their pre-sale as starting tomorrow, so it seems logical that the Steem snapshot could have been envisioned to take place just before that. And for those used to blockchains like bitcoin, 18 million blocks may seem crazy and account for a white paper typo!
However it is likely that when Vice changed their strategy from an SMT to their own chain, they may have scored some extra tech support and consulting from Steemit Inc. with free shares aimed right at the founders. We’ll see!

I would like to know this as well.

Me too, how do you get your hands on these.

I was going to read their whitepaper.
until I discovered that I had to DOWNLOAD IT! to do so.
nope..
what if it's NASTY?

It does refer to some nasty things, but nothing nasty per se. Lol.

They say: if your not sure what to do, just hold...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57329.79
ETH 2914.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67