You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Leaders of the Free (blockchain) World

in #steem6 years ago

For the most part I agree that it's an interesting set of possibilities. I'm not so sure that most newbies will be up for having to figure out securing an extra RC delegation just to interact, given that one of Ned's statements is simply incorrect.

There in fact are other blockchain projects that reward crypto for content creation that require absolutely no investment by the user to do pretty much whatever you need on the platform. At least, in dabbling in others over the last few months I've never come up against any limitations. Granted, I interact on those platforms far less than here, so maybe I would if I was posting/commenting more.

But Minds (erc-20 token) and Trybe (EOS) definitely don't require any coin purchase to use. This is essential because we can't imagine the new person arrives here as devoted to the place as we are. Sure, after I'd been on here a few months I started buying delegated SP, and I can see how the resource pools might be a similar investment someone might make. Possibly a dapp might be making money off new users in such a way that it pays for them to invest in securing RCs for them also.

It's the person who arrives here with no ties to this place, just checking it out, comparing it to other options like Minds and Trybe that is at issue.

Sort:  

On phone.

I think you have misinterpreted what is said or are limiting it.

"There is no other chain with functionality like this."

This isn't just about free accounts. It is about how and who can create those accounts. It is about the versatility of being able to use RCs across multiple platforms and use case also. I will be able to use my RC excess to give new users of steemmonsters access and keep all functionality of my account for steemit use if i choose. Or split them between multiple platforms that give different capabilities to their users under a range of their own rule bases. The RCs don't care whether a platform demands verification or if a platform wants to grant 10 comments or 100 for a new user, it is just bandwidth and it will be up to the individual projects how much they want to provide. Some might be so compelling that people will buy their own through a subscription plan. Versatility rather than one size for all.

A new user won't have to find a delegation, the community or interface they enter through will provide it at account creation, the same way it has been done on steem earlier except with unvested RCs. With delegation of RCs, I as a user could store credits and build a community of 1600 users who can act there for free. Ì would still have all of my vote value to support them if i choose and there will be no need for me to get approval for any off them.

I don't know about minds or trybe but I would say that there is still a cost to processing but it is currently subsidized. If they had 10 million users transacting freely, does that change things?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57038.56
ETH 2908.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65