What's the purpose of Steemit?

in #steem6 years ago

When I look at the posts on Steemit it looks like "making money" is the only purpose of the people who post here. It's hard to find a post which is written only for the purpose of sharing. I'm very disappointed and think that on the long run STEEM won't be worth a dime because of this behavior.

When I first heard about it I was very positive. I liked the idea that you get rewarded by peers for the knowledge you share. I compared it with Facebook and LinkedIn where you share your knowledge for free and others, Facebook, LinkedIn and Advertisers, make the profit. Steemit was going to turn this revenue model around, I thought.
But it’s not working out that way. Post aren’t upvoted because of their content. On the contrary, worthfull post get no votes at all and are therefore hard to find. Post are upvoted because the voters hope to earn some STEEM by voting.
The most popular posts are about making money with Steemit.

I’m sure nobody will read this post. Unless the word STEEM gets noticed by the “Moneyseekers”. I don’t care, I just want to share my feelings. I go back to LinkedIn, despite of their revenue model, because on that platform I get inspired by what others share. Greed.jpg

Sort:  

You are right. There is so much trash posted its hard to find good content. I think a lot of people spend all their vote power voting only on posts that they expect will reach trending.

Often you can see 3 minute old posts (of high reputation people) with tens of upvotes already. I'm sure they could not even read it that fast.

Thanx for sharing my opinion. I'll spend my last dimes here on upvoting reactions like yours. smiley.jpeg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71095.13
ETH 3686.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76