A Minnow's perspective of HF20steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

If you look at my steemd page, you can see that my account is just over 60 days old. If you investigate a little further you'll find that I only became active on the 23rd of September. That's two days before HF20. I started by upvoting a lot of posts, writing a few comments and I made my first post. At the end of the day, I still had ample bandwidth left to do anything I'd want.

Then HF20 happened

I had a fantastic -11100% Resource credits. That'd mean no interactions with the Steem blockchain for the next 500 days. If it wouldn't have been reset, I would have left the platform forever.

Meme

I had to wait for a day or two, then the negative balances were reset. I got my 100% RC and started to interact with Steem again. I upvoted two posts, followed two people and made a comment. Before HF20 I would have consumed about 0.02% of my bandwidth and only a tiny bit of my voting power. This time I didn't have any RC left and my voting power decreased by 50%.

I will forgive Steem for the voting power decrease. It didn't bother me anyway, because I had to wait for at least three days before I could post again. By that time, my voting power would have been fully recharged as well.

The colossal RC costs is a different story. Before the hardfork, I made two posts and wrote seven comments in two days, all while having more than enough bandwidth left for other activities. After the hardfork, I could only write two comments in total, leaving me without enough bandwidth to also upvote some posts. With those costs, I could make about 11 upvotes every 5 days. That's not even enough to ever get my voting power below 90%. With those costs, interacting with the Steem community wasn't possible.

The fix

Update 0.20.4 provides optimized parameters which allow me and my fellow Minnows to use Steem normally again. For me, this update confirms the failing of HF20 as well as its success. I don't have estimates, but the bandwidth pricing seems to be fair now. I can easily empty my voting power and still have enough bandwidth left to make a post. The pricing now is a lot better than before HF20, because back then you had so much bandwidth that you didn't ever run out unless you were a bot.

But that doesn't take away that I couldn't use the Steem platform for four consecutive days. I understand that a hard fork always causes a disruption in the continuity of a blockchain and I understand that you can't test every possible situation before deploying. I know there's a testnet where the hardfork was tested before applying it to the main blockchain, But with the issues we saw with this hardfork, it almost seems like you didn't test it on an actual blockchain at all.

Don't get me wrong, I do think HF20 will be a milestone in the history of Steem, including the resource credits. Besides that, I know few software projects that are so fast to address the issues that arise after deployment and the actual hardfork went smooth, without issues. Nowhere in the process was the blockchain unavailable, we just didn't have access to it. That is something to be proud of, especially considering that this is the twentieth time you pulled this off. Just don't forget to think about everything that could potentially go wrong before pushing the code.

These are my opinions on HF20, but I'd like to hear how my fellow Steemians experienced this hardfork and if you encountered comparable issues to what I've described in this post.

“If we want to be serious about quality, it is time to get tired of finding bugs and start preventing their happening in the first place.” — Alan Page

Sort:  

I don't know much about blockchain in general and HF in particular.

As far as I know they KNEW before releasing the code of HF20 that minnows would hardy be able to interact with the Steem community any more. Nevertheless they decided to release that hard force.

Find a godfather/mentor who is willing delegate you some of his power so that you will be able to use the platform as you did before HF20.

If I had power I would delegate it to you. But my own power is just 1.19 SP, the rest is delegated and cannot be delegated by me.
I have only the possibility to upvote your post with all the power I have. It's not much but better that nothing.

Good luck in finding a person supporting you!

Not good to hear that they knew about this issue, that doesn't make me feel welcome here. Luckily there are also people like you! Thanks for the nice words! I'll try finding someone with more power than me who might want to help me. Thanks for the advice and the upvote

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Jager567 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations @jager567! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received
Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard knock out by hardfork

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61553.99
ETH 2881.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54