Promoting Steem

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

We have come so far but we still have a mountain ahead of us. Steem has the potential to be one of the biggest revolutions in the 21st century. Not only in the crypto currency world but all over the planet.

Steem currently has the most transactions daily of all cryptocurrencies. Steemit.com ranks in the top 1000 most visited websites in the world. There are no fees associated with Steem transfers and transactions are immediate. Despite all of these huge advantages, Steem still lags behind many other crypto currencies that have far less impressive qualities. To help Steem move into the elite rankings the users of the Steem platform need to do more in order to attract big investors. Steem is great as a currency that can be earned through posting and curating, but we also need traditional investors who are just looking for capital gains through appreciation in value. Therefore it is a responsibility of all Steem/steemit users do promote not only the steemit platform but also the Steem block chain as an asset class itself.

I recently had a lightbulb go off in my head when I realized how much potential Steem has going forward. It is NOT just a coin to be earned through bloggi, it is NOT limited to just online activity and it has NOT come anywhere close to realizing it's full potential.

Recently @timcliff made a post about Shilling Steem, and he really hit the nail on the head with this post. Steem has the potential to be used to purchase tangible goods, it can be used to order coffee at your local coffee shop or even buy dinner at a fancy restaurant, but only if WE, the users of the Steem block chain do our part to spread the word about the awesomeness of this coin.

So I have been thinking a lot about what I can do to help promote Steem and Steemit. Whether it be word of mouth or 50 foot banners, there are countless ways to get the word out. What I decided to do was print out 1000 business and 1000 stickers to pass out and stick in random public places all over the world.

The first place I started my mission was at the Olympic Games in South Korea. After I had the stickers and business card made I began sticking them in random public places; subway stations, Starbucks signs, elevators, inside arenas etc. the more visibility, the better. Here are a few of the places I have been putting the stickers.

IMG_7829.JPGIMG_7667.JPGIMG_7668.JPG
IMG_7669.JPGIMG_7670.JPGIMG_7671.JPG

Now, whether or not this promotion will produce tangible results will be impossible to tell, but it doesn't matter, all it takes is one big investor to see these stickers and become curious enough to do some research on Steem for it to be considered a success. I've always thought the best form of marketing is through word of mouth, so the more people we can get talking about Steem, the better.

Piggybacking on the sticker/business card idea I decided to make a big banner that I took with me to several Olympic events. The sign was simple, it was just a Steem logo with a greater than symbol, followed by the bitcoin logo. While watching several sporting events, cheering loudly, I held up my sign and acted like a crazed maniac, all in attempt to draw as many eyes to my sign as possible. Once again, it is impossible to know exactly what results these efforts provided, but vital nonetheless. Below you can see me at the gold medal curling event displaying my sign around the arena.

IMG_7857.JPG


IMG_7859.JPG

There were reporters and cameramen from around the world at these events so if by any chance I was able to get on any TV station, millions of eyes would have seen this sign, providing a huge amount of marketing for Steem.

I have been passing out stickers and business cards to friends and strangers daily and I will continue to do it going forward. I want to add to these efforts with T-shirts, pens/pencils, coffee mugs, etc. slowly I will vamp up my marketing effort soon for Steem and continue spreading the word. I have several projects I am working on and will hopefully have some more good news goin get forward.

For now, I urge everyone reading this to make a concerted effort to spread some Steem love to anyone and everyone you meet daily. The true potential of Steem lies with our ability to promulgate just how amazing this platform is. Let's all do our part so we can enjoy the spoils of our efforts.

Sort:  

Brilliant initiative mate and I hear what you say but the perception needs changing first. People associate Steem with Steemit with getting paid to blog. People join up, find its just another corrupt power and money led old boys club and then leave after they find they've joined 18 months too late and no one read their fabulous, well written an researched posts.
Steem needs to either re-brand itself, or get Steemit to change its name (or better still close so that the other more individual sounding and more attractive front ends can take its place) to be taken seriously as a blockchain in its own right.
We can all spread the Steemit gospel, but Steem inc should have a dedicated marketing team. If, as you say, investment is needed, it will need to be quick as in the tech world, new and cutting edge doesnt stay new and cutting edge for very long.
Where did you get the stickers made please ? They are a great idea

Thanks for the kind words. I completely agree with what you’re saying, it is very tough for new users to join the platform and have success, most of the rewards are being consumed by longtime users with huge accounts. Having said that, you have two options, give up and move on to something else, or do everything you can to make a change and try and balance things out. I have chosen to go with the latter. Things are never fair in life and the same goes with the blockchain, but when you put in effort, I mean really put in effort, your hard work will eventually be rewarded.
I got the stickers and business cards made at a local printing shop, I think you can find most printing shops can accommodate and make stickers. Don’t give up my friend, long term you’ll be happy you stuck around

Thank you too mate :-)
I aren't giving up...not when there are a few feathers to ruffle lol ;-)
Best wishes to you.

well, you can either stop on steem and go back to facebook to do the same thing you are doing now for absolutely nothing or stay and do if for a little bit and hope it grows...
this thing is in its infancy and it will grow but first the tech fundaments have to stand on solid ground... once those are sound then you can rest assured that your 100 steem will be worth a whole lot more then 300 dollar

I wasn't really making a comment on the money, it's a comment on the absolute rubbish on here I have to wade through to find anything decent to read or learn about. The money fosters greed and a load of people who want to be read rather than read. Steemit has been going 21 months ? that's not an infancy, especially in tech years.

This is great passion for the platform! I agree, we’re gonna need more investors in STEEM! Hopefully the SMTs will help lead us in that direction. I’m looking to ramp up my promotion of STEEM by summer! Thanks for your support and dedication to the community!!

The more of us that help promote steem, the better of we will all be

To help Steem move into the elite rankings the users of the Steem platform need to do more in order to attract big investors.

This is false.

You know I am all for Steemit growing, but what the last, well even just the last 6 months have shown, that big investors are not interested in anything BUT profit. This doesn't help Steemit at all, but actually makes it worse. They have no interest in the community, and Steemit is suppose to be a community social network.

I began sticking them in random public places; subway stations, Starbucks signs, elevators, inside arenas etc.

I know in South Korea, people throw advertising everywhere, but I personally hate this kind of tactic. It's irresponsible, and I see it as vandalism and littering. Sorry. You should have walked in to local places, places that can actually benefit from being a part of Steemit, and asking if you could place a permanent signage on their register or something, not marking up big corporate entities.

Steem logo with a greater than symbol, followed by the bitcoin logo.

Honestly, I think we Steemit should try and disassociate itself from Bitcoin as much as possible... but.

Anyway, it's nice to see your efforts in promoting the platform, those are just my critiques, and they're meant to be constructive.

While you do make some valid points about sticking them in random places, I am not really looking for approval, I’m looking for more eyes on outback platform.

You are also confusing steem the coin with steemit the social media platform. We do want more investors in steem simply because it pushes the value of the coin up. You can invest in steem without ever having to create a steemit account, traditional investing. I disagree with you completely on disassociating with bitcoin. People who are new to crypto usually will only have heard of bitcoin and maybe ethereum, if we can provide information that shows steem is a better alternative, that’s great. Once we remove our personal opinions and feelings and look at something rationally and in the best interest of the platform, I hope you change your mind. Having said that, it’s always good to hear from a different perspective

Yay hooray! I am so happy to see this! I have been working on Steemit promotion too! Last weekend I visited our yearly Renn fest, and handed out 500 business cards, and talked to a bunch of people as this character I made, called Lady Steem. I plan to visit bigger events in the future, including our super popular comic con. I wish more people would be on board with helping market Steem, but at least there are a few of us doing our part! I can't wait to see what else you come up with! Following! :)

That’s awesome. Glad to see others promoting the platform as well. There needs to be leaders among us that take initiative to start it, but once others see the positive impact we are having, they will join the movement. I think comic con would be a great place to promote steem. Now we need to think of a steem character and create our own comic series

Haha I love that you made the sign for the games! :) do the cards say anything about blogging and earning? Awesome effort Jason! Going to resteem and share 😀thank you!

The business cards are very generic, just have steemit.com on one side and my account with the steem logo on the other side. Working on some other things to promote the platform as well, this is just the beginning

Wow! That's a proactive marketing strategy!

Well Done!

Thanks Michelle. Just trying to do my part

'Above and Beyond' I think is the term.

Well buddy that was a great idea and I sure hope many eyes have caught you in the screen of the TV !

You and me both. Even if only a few people check out steem because of my sign, it’s all worth it

Olympic Photo Bombing, noice!

Gotta get steem some recognition! Best comment I received during my efforts was, “sit down you crazy Canadian and have another shot of soju”.

Omg! I wonder if I can find those stickers ;)
Thanks for promoting Steemit Jason!!

That would be awesome! Let me know if you find any

Well done Jasonschick. Thank you very much for going the extra mile. I do events and publication. I've started promoting Steem through my magazine. This year's annual event to be held on November 17th in Melbourne will have a Steem segment. Once again you are a real foot soldier. Much Respect!

That’s awesome. When we all do our part to help the community grow, we all benefit. Look forward to seeing more promotion from you, started following you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 58557.01
ETH 2992.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74