You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Clarifying my decision not to support EOS-related posts and witnesses (100% of post rewards donated to curation initiatives)

in #steem6 years ago

I trust that over the long haul, more STEEM witnesses would move toward becoming associations as opposed to people. So much trust must be put into a person when they turn into a witness though associations that are worked for Steem, Steem-related administrations will probably dependably remember Steem's best advantages.

Sort:  

Definitely. I agree with you that groups, teams, or associations will be best. In the future, I will hold witnesses to a much higher standard as far as making a positive impact on the Steem ecosystem. Each one should be funding dapp development, marketing, or community building, etc.

Heh, my team does all three and then some, and we are insistent that witnesses should be using the platform. I'm well over the excuses that we never see top 20s because they are busy working on stuff. Some of which materializes, some of which doesn't. Meanwhile my team mate and i spend about 140 hours a week a piece here. literally putting in 20 hour days.

Also I think that at least the top 20 should also run full RPC and seed nodes, required or not, and the only reason I don't is because the servers currently cost more than a level 63 witness can afford without a revenue stream here, and because all our projects are free tools, charitable, communities or otherwise not revenue generators, for now, i am waiting to see if appbase and rocksdb can make the currently still vaporous claims of major ram requirement reductions come true. Even if I had the rev to stand up a full node today, id wait for hf20 now or just be downsizing a couple month old expensive node and rebuilding anyway at this point.

I totally agree. There is no way we can possibly compete with a project that has as much funding and support as EOS without everyone at the top making this their fulltime, parttime an side gig all in one.

100% agree with this. I'm new here and could totally be talking out of my ass, but from looking around at the github and the apps I get the vibe that while many of the Witnesses are putting in work towards making STEEM more valuable for all of us currently many of the witnesses are nothing more than glorified E-Celebs.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.66
ETH 3148.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84