You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Barter and Gifts in the Age of Steem

in #steem6 years ago

Wow, I was just thinking about this in depth because a friend asked me if i would write his website in exchange for letting me tag along on the food tours he gives around the city. I was so happy and excited, because while I love trades, so many people seem to undervalue writing, thinking they can just write whatever themselves and it will be just as good. And you are right about why it isn't more popular--the government doesn't promote it because it is harder to tax. Ugh, that everything revolves around money is so freaking frustrating.

Also, I do not think there is anything wrong with the type of generosity you are talking about with regard to yourself. You give and you get something (naturally) in return, no matter what it is (sometimes what you get in return is feeling good about giving, you know?). You're not going around expecting something tangible really. It's just part of the giving process?

Anyway, thanks for such an engaging post. Put a lot of cool thoughts into my head.

Sort:  

Wonderful example and thanks for sharing. Good luck to you with that work too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62258.08
ETH 3157.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78