You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Shitposts vs Shortposts - Learn the Difference - Utilize the potential!

in #steem6 years ago

People with large SP holdings need to post every day to take full advantage of the stake they have built up or paid for. You can't really blame them for shit posting when they will get the same level of reward whether they post a one-liner question such as "How are you feeling today?" or spend some time writing something more meaningful. It's their stake and they would be stupid to sacrifice a daily payment simply because they had nothing meaningful to say. The system itself encourages shit posts and for someone who holds say 500,000 SP it would be foolish for them to not post something at least once a day and upvote themselves. I agree with your points in principle but in reality, a lot of people on here post every day simply because if they don't they lose money. If I earned $50-100 a post by upvoting myself while still curating I would be posting one line shit posts at least 3 times a week simply because my life isn't interesting enough and I don't have the skills/drive to post something decent every day.

Sort:  

They don't. They can always delegate to bidbots to reap the benefits of their SP without posting. That said, I'm not to any extent blaming users for shitposting.

Don't get me wrong
I'm not hating on shitposts
Nor on users who create them.

I completely agree with what you said here

The system itself encourages shit posts and for someone who holds say 500,000 SP it would be foolish for them to not post something at least once a day and upvote themselves.

But this is and will keep on changing with projects like @steem-ua, @curie other curation programs who upvote based on "quality"

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63332.97
ETH 3169.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89