The Conversions are in!

in #steem5 years ago

So 4 days ago with SBD dropping way below $1, I was reminded of one post of mine all about the somewhat "hidden" mechanism on Steem that allows the internal conversion of SBD to Steem at a flat rate of $1. If this is your first time hearing about that one, then read my blog post about it from months ago: How to convert SBD to STEEM at a flat rate of $1! or I heard you could simply use SteemConnect for this although I lost the link. XD

So in other words, say if the current price of SBD & Steem on the market is $0.5, with STEEM's internal contract you could convert that same SBD like its $1. So 1 SBD gives you 2 STEEM. Or so I thought until I read this post: SBD Haircut rule is about to activate (do not convert).

Anyway, since I read that post quite late, might as well share to all of you what happened to the SBD I converted internally. So 4 days ago, I've sent some liquid SBD to my test alt account @clauxklein in order to internally convert 1.398 SBD and 1.463 SBD to liquid Steem. Since I am using a third-party tool, I am using my alt account just in case something fishy happens (Nothing bad happened though! XD). But Prevention is better than cure!


image.png

Now your next question woudl probably be something in the lines of: Which is more profitable, the internal conversion or the market conversion. So before I converted those liquid SBD, I took some Screenshot as to how much would I have got if I used the market.


333.png
9.png

As seen above, My 1.398 SBD would have gotten me 2.739 liquid STEEM. It is worth to note thought that the price at that time was still $0.51. And hours later, I've made another conversion request for 1.463 SBD which would have gotten me a 3.048 STEEM at $0.48 price.

3.5 days later and the conversions are in. To which as you can see below gives me more liquid Steem compared to converting on the market. I'm not really sure if the SBD Haircut Rule was already activated at that time, but yesterday when I checked the SBD Debt ratio it was 11.11%. Not sure if the internal conversion is basing it on a 3.5 day average though.


image.png

So I'm just sharing my experience here, I am in no way saying which method gives one more liquid Steem. With how fast Steem is decreasing, no one knows for sure what method is much preferrable. So use it at your own risk. XD

Sort:  

Hi @jlordc!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.565 which ranks you at #5916 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 2 places in the last three days (old rank 5918).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 212 contributions, your post is ranked at #192.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by jlordc from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95