You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Business of Crypto

in #steem5 years ago

Maybe, too many of the wrong kinds of people are witnesses. I could be wrong. But maybe we should find ways to let more people witness like Bitcoin does with the wallet thing, assuming that is how Bitcoin works. I think Witnesses should only witness as a side job, as a gig. People should not rely on Steem until the Dollar crashes. Currently, Steem seems to rely on cryptocurrencies like Bitcoin which depends on the Dollar which is regulated by the Federal Reserve which has been attacking the Dollar several times in 2018. The Feds are attacking the Dollar and that affects the crypto world. So, cryptocurrencies are going against central banks, the Fed, and all of that, but we need more time, like a few more years, or maybe longer, because gaining independence from the elites, the rich people in those big world banks, is not very easy to do. I will continue to promote Steemit as it is better than http://Minds.com

Sort:  

I definitely find Steem to be way better than Minds! And yeah, there is an issue with the entire model of witnesses NEEDING to sell at any price just to cover living expenses, particularly when they have so much. Again, I'm only talking about top witnesses, as in the top 5, not all of them. Most are doing it part-time. But the demands increase the higher up the ranks you go.

What's more troubling to me, honestly, is discovering that the entire STINC company has been running off selling STEEM! That's far more STEEM being sold at bargain basement prices than from the witnesses!

BitTorrent Bitcoin Steem Style?

I want Steem Witnesses to get paid through a seeding BitTorrent system. Like, why not, if it's not already like that? Get paid in Steem, in Bitcoin, in Dollar, or whatever, for hosting, serving, witnessing, the servers, the nodes, whatever that is needed for Steem, the blockchain. Borrow from what has been working from the Bitcoin & BitTorrent world.

Full-Time

So, only about 5 witnesses are or were witnessing as their main source of like income, as in full-time? Well, more power to them, I guess. Because they can do what they wanna do. But then, something like this happens or could happen. And that might be the problem if they have no backup income.

Selling

Yeah, if STINC is selling a whole lot of Steem, that makes me wonder why I'm investing in the SP, for long-term, if they're doing like the opposite of SP in selling. Plus, the ability to edit comments & posts that are older than 7 days is good but also dangerous if somebody were to kidnap my account someday, maybe they will go into a post, an article, I wrote a year ago, & remove the content, the words, & especially the pictures. I like Steem for the money. I made a few dollars in the past year or so. But I am mostly on Steem to archive what I write, links, maybe video too, and especially old family photos from the old family photo albums that I've been scanning for my mother.

When a post is edited, the original is still on the blockchain (I think) the edit is just notice to the UI to display the new version of it. But everything is still there somewhere if you can access the blockchain directly. (Someone correct me if I'm wrong.)

Posted using Partiko Android

If you are right, then if I try to edit a year old post via Steemit, then maybe I will not see the edit via another app that is on Steem, like Busy.org for example. Or if Busy does show it, maybe the original version of the year old post is still on the blockchain but is not shown. But maybe there would be a way to look at the original version of it. Yeah, I would love to know specifically what happens. Thanks for writing. I guess we will find out someday maybe.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.66
ETH 3148.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84