Steem and BOTS This minnow feels like a cheater. What would you do if you were new?

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

So we accept these Steem Bot Overlords?

SteemBot.png

I have now been on Steemit for a total of 3.5 days. I am not trying to be the new mayor or anything, just have a couple questions I hope the community can answer. I have posted an original article and after waiting with no results, like all new users I am sure, stared to search for ways to increase votes. I was totally surprised to find that bots were encouraged, and almost thought of as a necessity. I think bots are cool and all, still it seems kinda like upvote manipulation, and makes me feel dirty based on past platform experiences. It seems the attitude is, "If you can't beat them, join them?"
Today I tried a couple for a post but still no results yet, maybe they will be here tomorrow, maybe I have ruined my entire reputation before I even had one. I don't know.

After a little more research I see there is a division here at Steemit about the toipc. and would like to ask for some opinions on the topic.

If you were a new user would you use bots? If so why?

It takes time to set this stuff up and maintain it. If you do like them what are your favorites?

Are we sure bots and other non human up-votes will not get posts penalized in the future?

What if you work your tail off and it all goes away?

Does using bots effect your (karma) score? or Is there a downside to using them?

Still seems like cheating... hahahaha I will play along if that is it. Just don't want to waste my time when I could be making new content, unless it is, what it is...

What do you think?

Sort:  

crickets?

nobody knows the trouble I have seen....

I will ONLY answer your 1st Question since the others are NOT MY STYLE!

"If you were a new user would you use bots? If so why?"

NO, because why spend crypto to get more crypto.

I can comment on other peoples post that I have an INTEREST in. (Explore Tab)

Capture+_2018-04-26-15-45-33.png

After leaving a genuine meaningful COMMENT they most likely will UPVOTE that comment with the possibility of them looking at your blog and if they like what they see they might give you a FOLLOW and possibly UPVOTE your post. After following more like minded individuals, those post will show up in your feed ready to be read and commented on. (Don't have to ALWAYS use up your Voting Power) Doesn't that sound better than using a bot? Not to mention paying a bot when you could EARN it?

Good luck!

Keep STEEM N ON,
Frank

Yeah I don't know what to say, I found it weird too. But then the desire to earn sets in and you lie to yourself that it doesn't matter bots are being used instead of organic upvoting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62486.49
ETH 3015.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93