Promoting The Upvote Culture

in #steem4 years ago


I had quite the light bulb moment last week when I was reading a brilliant post by @khaleelkazi

In it, he talks about what we need to understand when it comes to being an author or creator on Steem. One of the points he discussed was what he called 'Upvote Culture'...

Arguably one of the best aspects of the Steem blockchain is that we can 'reward' the content we like and depending on how much Steem we have staked, can be anywhere from a fraction of a penny for the author or sometimes hundreds of dollars.

It's what Steem was known for and I know this frustrates a lot of folks on the blockchain...

We don't like to talk about 'the rewards pool' as a selling point to bring people over to Steem. We want to be known for so much more, and rightfully so...

But it's there! And it's part of the DNA of Steem.

Personally....I think we should celebrate it!

And I know, it's going to dry up eventually and there is only so much to go around...Which brings up the point of downvoting. We've beaten that dead horse...

Let's just say I live in this 'naive and utopian' mindset where...


This will almost always be at 100% for me!

Sure I will downvote spam or abuse, but at the end of the day...If I don't like what you post, disagree with it or how much you are receiving in rewards...I move along.

And this brings us back to the 'Upvote Culture'!

The culture of supporting and rewarding people that are, dipping their toes into the blockchain space for the first time.

People that may have had dreams of writing a blog, mustered up the courage to do so, and took that leap of faith!

Or maybe it's a content creator that is sick of being silenced on traditional social media. And they are here to get their content seen, without any fear of being 'silenced'.

That's the beauty of the Steem blockchain...We can reward these people!

We can, as @khaleelkazi states, TIP these authors and creators to show our appreciation for their hard work. And to me, that's just down right...Awesome!

The biggest benefit is that it brings creators and regular folks to the blockchain. Who may have never dove into anything 'crypto' related but here on Steem, they can use it and earn it every single day.

This is so powerful!

Forget trying to figure out what should be considered 'quality content'...If you like it, upvote it. If you don't, find another Steemian to upvote...Believe me, we have some amazing people here on Steem!

And while the arguments rage on 'Crypto Twitter' about how blockchains need to focus on adoption and actual use cases, we're sitting here smiling :)

Don't underestimate how powerful your upvote can be! Even if it's just worth a fraction of a penny....

It shows people that they are appreciated. It shows them they are valued. And it shows them that they can have a home here, on Steem, to grow and be rewarded daily.


clicktrackprofit

The 'Official' CTP Merchandise store is open for business.

https://teespring.com/stores/clicktrackprofit

The Union Is Here!

Blockchain meets Affiliate Marketing....

CTP Condenser - https://www.CTPtalk.com

CTP Token on Steem-Engine - https://steem-engine.com/?p=market&t=CTP

CTP Token on SteemLeo DEX - https://dex.steemleo.com/?token=CTP


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://plus1daily.com/promoting-the-upvote-culture/

Sort:  

disagree with it or how much you are receiving in rewards...

I will agree with you that opinion downvoting is a dick move. But... You do realize the reward pool is both a fixed and shared resource? That means the more people who "move along" when they see abject over-rewarded posts, or posts designed to milk the system, the less rewards there are for the people actually working hard who deserve them. One reason the rewards have improved for you, for me, and many of your readers is there's folks out there willing to not look the other way when it comes to exploiting the reward pool.

Yeah that's the biggest issue I have with it...Opinion downvoting. If you don't agree, just move along.

And I 100% agree with protecting the rewards pool from the spam and abuse.

While I recognise the (equal) need for downvoting and upvoting, I’m more in the upvoting camp than the other. I think most people are like this. Perhaps it’s from the asymmetry in the Universe where matter slightly won over anti-matter 😀

The exception of corse is that legion of -10% downvote bots😂😂

ha ha ha ha ha ha good analogy.

Yeah man, nothing better than seeing a bunch of 15 Steem Power accounts downvoting me every day LOLOL

i understand the need and purpose of the down vote.
I can agree it needs to stay for spammers & abusers.
But I choose YES voting.
Positivity & Community can be contagious.
Let make it
Upvote, upvote, upvote and share.
a powerful platform will evolve.

That is the way too look at it Jon, if you focus on the negative then negativity will focus on you, just law of attraction basically, keep promoting the upvote culture and stay awesome.

You upvote things, and support good content and community....Others will do the same :)

Exactly right, and that spreads, hopefully.

Jon, nice post. Perfectly fine to describe your view and act towards it. However, it doesn’t make it right. Please let me explain.

You have 28K SP at the moment and your current post is currently enjoying a $9.40 reward; which you graciously donated 15% to steempress and rest goes to your wallet. All nice and good.

Now all day today, yesterday and days before that I downvoted a Korean cartel with a kingpin with 1.3 M SP, earning $40 a post, (2 post a day before, now only one lately due to constant downvotes). With $40 a post, 7 post a week is $280 just to this one person. My single 100% DV is about $3, I probably spent 10 of them on him so far and his immediate family. That $30 I redistributed to this reward pool so that YOU can get $9.40, if I haven’t done that you would probably get $9.39; yes Jon that’s today.... or at payout, not in million years in future when Dinosaurs will rule the earth :)

Plus it’s not only just me, there were 4 other individuals consistently downvoted this particular individual so that his shit-post gets zero reward. So now without that your current beautiful post will be $9.20 perhaps, yeah today, or at payout. Still with me, or the math too hard for ya?

Upvote and downvote are equal and opposite actions. You mentioned if I don’t like a content I should move on. You also said “opinion downvote” is unacceptable; but there is nothing wrong with opinion upvote. Excellent, Jon!

Enjoy your $9.40 reward without some of us, it could have been $9.20.... $9.0.... $8???

What have you done for me specifically lately Jon?

Sorry that’s a rhetorical question. Have a great day, man! I am glad you are here ;)

You have 28K SP at the moment and your current post is currently enjoying a $9.40 reward; which you graciously donated 15% to steempress and rest goes to your wallet. All nice and good.

Not really....50/50 split if I recall after hardfork 21....I get....maybe 4 bucks worth of Steem and SP when all is said and done. Which I'm fine with, cause I like seeing the rewards going to the curators too. That's what makes Steem so awesome.

Still with me, or the math too hard for ya?

No, the math adds up fine.

However I would say, abusers will be there no matter what and instead of you being responsible for tackling this issue alone and using your SP for it, why not have a better system that gets rid of all their rewards from the abusers.....

If X amount of Steemians vote a post down because of abuse, the rewards are removed....Again I'm not that smart, I just use this stuff and try to get others to as well.

What have you done for me specifically lately Jon?

Glad you asked....Since I've been here...I've built https://www.SteemSavvy.com to help onboard new people to Steem.

I also created @ClickTrackProfit and bring hundreds of people to Steem to help them get their feet wet with the platform. Getting everyday online businesses to use and accept Steem and train them on it as well.

We also built Fire-Pay that can integrate Steem-Engine tokens into any business online so that merchants can accept any token they wish. Beta tested it with CTP Token all weekend and it worked great, bringing it to more online merchants this year.

Oh and I talk about Steem every day to my 10k plus Twitter followers.

So not much specifically...But I'm still here building my businesses on the blockchain and encouraging others to. I hope it helps your Steem investment :)

SP=steem Jon. You have been around for a while. I know that you know 50/50 split. It is $9.40 rewards.

However I would say, abusers will be there no matter what and instead of you being responsible for tackling this issue alone and using your SP for it, why not have a better system that gets rid of all their rewards from the abusers...

Easy to ask,eh? 1. It is called decentralized governance. 2. Steem Inc have 6 people in their staff.... what do you expect? FEMA after Katrina? :)

LOL Shows how much I don't know. Appreciate the correction. Still learning, still screwing up.

LOL Nah not expecting FEMA after Katrina...

BUT...this is where I think you guys (the whales with the big SP) shouldn't have to be the ones using all your VP to protect Steem from abuse. I do think there has to be a better way...

Some way where if the majority votes a post down, the rewards are removed....I dunno. That way, it doesn't fall on you and others to use your VP to combat it.

Another thing to learn Jon. After the latest HF, the blockchain gave all of us 10 free downvote so that abuse fighting do not drain VP. However only 7% of the people is using it unfortunately. So the fight is hard, and almost certainly a loosing battle. Cheers!

I still don't believe that downvote (as it is presented on the platform) should exist... The right definition will be FLAG (as it was before) and that part should be changed...

I'm still a newbie here, but some kind of reducing rewards for flagged content, or taking a second look at them, idk...

As it is now, it SHOULD serve to keep rewards pool cleaner, but if we scratch the surface that "opinion downvoting" take a big percentage of downvotes, and that is a very BAD thing for the whole image of STEEM.

Upvoting culture is a great thing, and I hope that more and more people will notice that... I would like to have see something more "in-written" because if we expect that everyone is polite and great, that will not happen ever...

I think there should be something like this....If a post gets enough 'flags' then it's seen as abusive and hurtful for the blockchain. But because we're stake based, a single account can disagree with ANYTHING about your post, and send it off into the wastelands lol

Majority rules and all that, if there is enough 'downvotes', then a post should be looked at as abusive and hurtful....Not because one person disagrees with it.

But alas...I dont spend much time thinking about these things...I prefer the upvote culture :)

I am all in on upvotes and just got some good mentoring from @crusin. And yes, we are affiliate marketers. I don’t apologize for wanting to make a buck.

Not at all...And I do believe, if you add value, you will be rewarded.

The issue seems to be, what one person deems as value, and someone else doesn't. Which is fine..But if I dont see value, I just move on. Less stressful :)

Great!! thanks a lot for putting this out!! Still working my way nice and steady...And soon full STEEM ahead!! Success!

Yessir!

Forward....Never backwards

Nice One, I'm an upvoter not a downvoter, alway's focusing on the positive...

"The more we value things, the less we value ourselves".
– Bruce Lee

The upvote is all about that... Showing appreciation for the person behind the post and how much we value their contribution of content, information or "value" they provide as a person.

Yeah and I dont want anyone to think I dont see the value in a downvote. I do and it can be set up to protect Steem. But downvote for the right reasons...Spam and plagiarism, not because you disagree with something.

Yes of course that's a valid point.

Great post I am grateful to everyone that upvotes

Posted using Partiko Android

Likewise man, I appreciate it all very much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68031.50
ETH 3788.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68