Decentralized Standards Of Behavior | Ranty STEEM Freewrite

in #steem4 years ago (edited)
Sort:  

At first, when the hardfork was announced, a lot of small accounts were worried that they might lose the small rewards that they were getting because of the new reward curve, and they were pretty upset about it. There was also fear that those who flag just to be jerks or because they disagree with your opinion would get worse, but that didn't really happen. And, like you said, now it's mostly the abusers who can no longer abuse with impunity that are crying the loudest about downvotes.

I think all the former bid bots and vote selling projects that turned into curation projects after the hardfork have been very good for the platform. I've seen a lot of creators that used to get a few cents for their good content are now getting a few dollars for the same type of content. Even my own so-so content got much better rewards after the hardfork because it got curated by former bid bots.

We need to go after the abusers with our downvotes, and I see a lot of curation projects doing that as well. In the end it's good for those who produce good content. And even those like me who just produce so-so content. Hehe!

And like you said, everyone should be held to the same standards regardless of if they are this that or the other demographic. Vote based on the content rather than based on traits the author was born with and has no control over.

For sure, most of the curation on this account is manual now, and most good stuff is upvoted to a few bucks before I even get to it.

I think it's good, it rewards and foments honest activity.

Good point, everyone can downvote whoever so as long as we remember that Epstein didn't kill himself.

Posted using Partiko Android

I made a comment to a certain user which is pretty much in line with what you are saying. Basically, the identity politics mentality applied to curation is the problem way I see it.

Ummm... last I checked it's supposed to be about the content. The problem is certain individuals have made things tough for those that use negative curation to adjust payout based on perceived value of the content. They want to be quick to vilify us for daring to downvote any within their protected groups.

May as well give the scammers an open invitation to create alt personas of these protected classed. Then, they can farm with impunity.

That's just BRILLIANT!

/s

Yep, best to nip that shit in the bud!

HEX BITCOIN SNAPSHOT ON DECEMBER 2 AT 00:00:00 UTC
Claim for free!! If you have Bitcoin!
Or buy Ethereum to transform it into HEX!
Stake HEX early, long and large, and watch it multiply!
HEX IS THE FUTURE OF FINANCE, STAKE YOUR CLAIM!
You click someone's referral link to get a 10% bonus!! hex.win
You claim 1 Bitcoin worth of HEX during on the first day.
You receive 10,000 HEX

  • 1.2(speed bonus)
  • 1.1(be referred bonus) = 13,200 HEX
    The person who referred you gets 13,200 * 20% = 2,640 HEX
    You stake for 365 days
    This gives you 20% extra StakeShares
    Referrer gets a 20% bonus minted
    Stakers get all the unclaimed HEX.

Downvoting for reward disagreement was in the original vision of Steem. I think basic etiquette means you should tell someome why you are downvoting if no one else mentioned it and you feel they are genuinely confused.

I alsonthinknthere is nothing wrong with people banding together and deciding on their own standards. Expecting a hardfork is rather silly though.

Downvoting for reward disagreement was in the original vision of Steem. I think basic etiquette means you should tell someome why you are downvoting if no one else mentioned it and you feel they are genuinely confused.

I usually do if both those conditions are met.

I alsonthinknthere is nothing wrong with people banding together and deciding on their own standards. Expecting a hardfork is rather silly though.

Agreed, people should band together. But they should also decide if using VP to reverse downvotes is worth it or not when they develop a program. How else could you nerf downvotes in such a way?

Agreed, people should band together. But they should also decide if using VP to reverse downvotes is worth it or not when they develop a program. How else could you nerf downvotes in such a way?

This is key. Eventually, they are going to be defending indefensible stuff. However, I think the appeal is limited because no one outside the block is going to vote for people in the block and downvotes will hurt them. They are better to avoid negative attention.

In the Food Fight Friday group we have see a significant increase in honest rewards since hf-21-22. Where as before a few would see anything over $2 the rest pennies.

Abuse is Abuse, no matter is you are an X Y or Z. Nobody should get a special pass and allowed to abuse at their will. Upvotes and downvotes are what equalize the whole system.

Like you said, the ones crying the most are the ones that got caught with their hand in the cookie jar.

I'm not a fan of downvotes. Hence I leave the cookie jar alone

The cookie jar is the reward pool in this case... downvotes keep people from Stealing from it. Aka raping it so you don’t get any tasty cookies

Same. It just causes flagging wars and enemies. If people don’t like either me or my content, I would prefer they unfollow me rather than cause drama. I am here to make connections with people not enemies.

You can make connections with people without rewards. If you decline rewards or set beneficiary to null or steem.dao, you are far less likely to be downvoted (other than for obvious 'abuse' reasons such as harassment, untagged nsfw, etc.)

If you are complaining about your rewards being downvoted, then please spare us the nonsense about connections.

I never mentioned rewards; I mentioned flagging wars and drama. Down votes, in both blog posts and comments, also lower the reputation score. I've been there and done that, and I am no longer interested in stirring up that hornets nest again.

So you don't care for the Triviality of Monetary rewards when you're talking about making connections, you care about the Meaningless Trivial Number, because connections with people not with ememememenies and Reputation Scores..

If people don’t like either me or my content, I would prefer they unfollow me rather than cause drama.

Who is proposing downvotes for either of those reasons? Neither are valid as far as I'm concerned. Not many actually downvote those they follow.

It's not about the proposal, but that was how was used against me in the past.
There are all sorts of bad actors on this platform and they really don't like being called out for it.

Finally! Someone talked some sense.

All the small accounts now actually getting curated that were previously ignored, they aren't complaining about downvotes. Don't fall for the narrative. I implore you, check out the backstory of anyone trying to push it on you.

I can actually attest to this. And many more like me.

I'm glad your experience has improved! Thanks for dropping by.

Good thing I stick around. Most of my friends here in Cebu are gone. And quiet a few of them have quality contents, but no one noticed prior to HF21/22. I always convince them to go back, but I think it's now difficult to sway their decision to leave.

I always share my post to my social media accounts to convince my friends to join Steem because it's way better now than before.

X2^ I’ve seen many users get a nice bump in reward payouts.

Most of them deserve the rewards they get. Good thing meritocracy has been adopted. I am happy with my current payouts. Even at a bearish market, I earn a decent amount, but I didn't withdraw anything. I'm saving it for the future.

Well said. Im still new here and learing the ropes but this tidbit makes everything a lot less daunting. Vote up for you and for decentralized governance.. never heard that before but i like it.

Welcome to STEEM!

I replied to your greetings post with a suggestion on how to start out with an #introduceyourself post. If you have discord, there are a lot of community chats you can join as well.

Well written. Nobody has the right to milk the system and steal the rewards that is deserved by genuine users.
Instead of complaining, they can use their time to produce good content and raise the standard of the place.

Thanks. Cheers to that!



Hey @sayee, here is a little bit of BEER from @freebornangel for you. Enjoy it!

It would be quite dumb to remove downvotes, suicide even.

It is equally dumb to fight about them and talk about them all day.

Each person uses their stake upvote what you like, ignore what you don't care about and downvote what you think is harmful.

We don't need controlling possies telling people what to vote for.

Of course they have the right, but that doesn't make it smart.

Can we make an SPS proposal to drop the subject?! :-)

I honestly think that would be the best thing we could do!

We def. need more stake!

Captain Kirk voice: must.get.more.stake

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61619.35
ETH 3001.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64