You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What is DAG Technology? An Alternative Ledger System for Cryptocurrencies | Coinpickings Podcast #2

in #steem6 years ago

Have you read anything about Hashgraph? It looks like a good state based alternative to the blockchain which could in theory both be faster and less intense on the cpu/gpu/disk/mem instead replacing them with the time to communicate with peers. Or at least as I understand it from skimming their whitepaper, I haven't fully read it yet myself.

Sort:  

I haven't read a ton about it yet, but I have a basic grasp. From my understanding, Hashgraph is built on DAG technology ("The data structure is a directed acyclic graph, where each vertex contains the hash of its two parent vertices." as stated here: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hashgraph).

It could be a great alternative to blockchain, but the issue is that the technology is currently not open source which makes the likelihood of actual implementation to cryptocurrency not very good.

I'm going to have to do some more research on hashgraph to give a better answer, but you should check out this thread: https://www.reddit.com/r/Iota/comments/79ncwt/is_hashgraph_just_another_version_of_iota/

It does a pretty good "fly-by" of what Hashgraph is, the issues with it, and how it stacks up to iota.

Thank you for the reddit link, it really cleared up some of the basic differences that'll have me stick with IOTA over HashGraph. Though they may even be used for different purposes I think all blockchain and DAG implementations, or most, will probably end up influencing the structure we use as a ledger in the future!

Np! I totally agree that they will be implementations of some kind in the future. To analogize this, I think of Blockchain and DAG as early versions of an ever-growing network of decentralized use cases. I think we'll see a lot of interest and development over the next 3-5 years in this space. Large institutions and governments are going to be forced to look into this space because of the benefits they bring and the markets they will disrupt - which is, in my opnion, nearly every market/industry.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63892.45
ETH 3117.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87