Steem Deposits/Withdrawals Disabled At Bittrex Again

in #steem7 years ago

So, it would appear that Steem transfers are again down at Bittrex:

Bittrex Steem Maintenance 8-5-17.png

Furthermore, Poloniex is loading slow as heck. Half the time the exchange is timing out for me:

Steem Maintenenance Poloniex 8-5-17.png

Does anyone have any technical reasons for why this keeps happening? Nobody seems to have any idea on this one.

Sort:  

how many times do there be posts about poloniexes affairs untill everybody stops using it

It's been weeks for me and I haven't missed it. Crazy.

I don't know. I haven't ever traded there myself, but I figured I should check it if I was going to post about Bittrex.

I think Poloniex could fold anytime. Or not. But I wouldn't want to add that risk to my portfolio.

well the big difference between the two is that bittrex does care and the CEO and others are known to public.. the ceo of poloniex is a vague figure which is most probably a fake name

Yeah, I definitely think Bittrex is the better operation. Even so, I don't like to keep too much on any exchange longer than I have to.

is that why steem price is down?

I think the Steem Price is definitely affected by these regular outages. On the one hand, it looks bad to the casual observer. Poloniex was even using language that implied Steem was the problem. On the other hand, people can't get Steem to exchanges they want to sell, so that could actually be keeping the price up.

Tough to say what the net effect is. Thanks for the comment.

Hell, I think they're doing that crap on purpose bro...It's maybe their way of controlling the market. When no one can exchange to and from STEEM, that is in a way to slow down or coerce certain fluctuations...shrugs....maybe anyway...

What does it say when you click on red coloured button with "i" written on it?

Same thing as the last outage: "Automated Maintenance."

Maybe because the spreads are going nuts with BTC and ETH volatility spiking?

i will upvote you dear @lexiconical
keep supporting
Follow me - @kingsempire

.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66856.70
ETH 3114.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75