Complete the Past To Embrace Your Future: Thought For The Day #44 💭✍

in #steem5 years ago

None of us can change our yesterdays, but all of us can change our tomorrows' (Colin Powell)

Releasing the anchors of past hurts, anger and fear can often be the final step you need to complete your past and embrace the future. Jack Canfield talks about how he knows people who have forgiven their parents and doubled their income in the ensuing few months, as well as doubled their productivity and doubled their ability to achieve things. One method that he uses is the Total Truth Process. These are how you release negative emotions of the past and come back to your natural state of love and joy in the present.

artistic-blossom-bright-207962.jpg
Photo

It can be conducted in writing or verbally, the goal is to express the anger, hurt and/or fear.

  1. Angry and Resentment
  • I'm angry that...
  • I hate it when...
  1. Hurt
  • It hurt me when...
  • I felt dissapointed when...
  1. Fear
  • I'm afraid that...
  1. Remorse, regret, and accountability
  • I'm sorry that...
  1. Wants
  • All I ever wanted...
  1. Love, compassion, forgiveness and appreciation
  • I understand that...
  • I forgive you for...

balloons-clouds-fly-33479.jpg
Photo

Forgive and move on

'As long as you don't forgive, who and whatever it is will occupy rent-free space in your mind' (Isabelle Holland). In light of the Law of Attraction, we have already discussed that you attract more of whatever feelings you are experiencing. Being negative, angry and unforgiving about a past hurt only ensures that you'll continue to attract more of the same into your life.

When you do forgive, it puts you back in the present - where good things can happen to you and where you can take action to create future gains for yourself. Jack Canfield expresses with his forgiveness experiences that 'after each experience, I did the work of processing it and forgiving the other party because I knew that if I didn't, those past hurts would eat away at me and prevent me from focusing my full attention on enjoying the present and creating the future life I wanted'.

bottle-cork-dangerous-159296.jpg
Photo

'Resentment is like drinking poison and then hoping it will kill your enemies' (Nelson Mandela)

The word forgive really means to give it up for yourself - not for them.

Steps to forgiving:

  1. Acknoweldge your anger and resentment.
  2. Acknoweldge the hurt and pain it created.
  3. Acknoweldge the fears and self-doubts that it created.
  4. Acknowledge any part you may have played in letting the behaviour or event occur or letting it continue.
  5. Acknowledge what you were wanting that you didn't get, and understand where he or she was coming from at that time, nad what needs they were trying to meet - however inelegantly - by their behaviour.
  6. Let go and forgive the person.

blackboard-board-close-up-908301.jpg

photo

Thank you very much for reading today's Thought For The Day. Let me know your thoughts in the comments below, I'm eager to hear!

Please resteem, upvote and follow!

Everyone who resteems this post will win a 100% upvote from me! ($0.30).

Post if you did in the comments below!

Best,

@Luppers

Sort:  

Life is mixed with success and failure. You are a great motivator. It's help people about tomorrow success. I appreciate your work and resteem done.Thank you.

Posted using Partiko Android

I hope to facilitate that for you! Please feel free to share your thoughts in future posts, I am eager to hear them and will upvote you some more!! Thanks for the resteem! Upvoted 100%!!

I really enjoyed this read and can truly relate, I was in church today which was family day and they spoke on this same topic, unforgiveness. One sister shared her story about the hate she had for her dad and how it took a word of advice from the pastor that she needs to forgive her dad so she can be healed. I think it is hard sometimes but very important. I may share my own story on here one day soon. Thanks for writing this post. Keep them coming.

Brilliant, thank you for the kind words. Ironically I am having similiar issues with struggling to forgive my Father for the pain he has given me. How does one go about it? I look forward to your story! Thanks for sharing your thoughts, please continue to do so in the future! Upvoted 100%!!

You are welcome. Yes, it is just one of those things that we just have to face and conquer. Cheer!

Thank you for the kind words! Please feel free to share your thoughts on my posts again in the future, I am eager to hear what you have to say and will also give you generous upvotes! Upvoted 25%!!

Excellent post @luppers to reflect on our mistakes and know how to forgive when justified, teaches us an important part of the life that I just remembered. luck and success for you brother
resteem your post

Reflection is a huge part of life, so is forgiveness. Both are very difficult! Thank you for the kind words, please continue to share your thoughts on my content in the future, I am eager to hear what you have to say! Upvoted 100%!!

@luppers, We know sometimes it's difficult to control our emotions and we can feel all sort of emotions, but it should not be dragged too long because what we hold as thoughts and putting the vibrations out in universe then universe also going to give back to us same thing. The most important aspect of life in my opinion is, spreading love, peace, kindness, forgiveness and brotherhood. Stay blessed.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes. It is real mastery to be in control of your emotions. I have heard of similar concepts about what you are talking, The Law of Attraction? Could you offer a description of what it is to you? Amazing stuff! Please share more in the future!! Upvoted 75%!!

In simple terms law of attraction is, for example, if i am dancer, and putting my efforts to express myself without fearing to fail in attaining my ultimate path, then i am putting my true intentions towards Universe and what goes out, will come back, so our true intentions and efforts are pursued by the universe because it holds the Power Of Manifestation. In my opinion, we are everything from inside. Have a joyful time ahead.

Great thoughts. Overcomming fear is essential to that I suppose? How do you think people work on that?

In my opinion we can use the Counting System means, we have to count 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5 then we have to start taking action without holding any fear, let's take action and leave the results upon Universe. Enjoy.

That sounds like a cool technique, not giving the monkey mind enough time to come in a give you all the reasons NOT to do something. Great thoughts as always!! Thank you for the kind words! You are the best! Please feel free to share your thoughts on my posts again in the future, I am eager to hear what you have to say and will also give you generous upvotes! Upvoted 50%!!

Thank you so much for appreciating my thoughts. Keep spreading the valuable pieces.

Forgive and move on. That's good advice. Often times easier said than done. But once you let go it's like a huge weight lifted off ones shoulders.

Posted using Partiko Android

You're spot on there. It sounds so easy on paper to 'forgive and forget'. Much harder in practice. Why is it so difficult for us to forgive do you think? Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts, feel free to share more in the future. Upvoted 50%!!

Cambiar a español

It is very interesting your post, about what you explain about the past and the future, I say that the past serves to improve the future

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes, very true. Our past can be used as a reference on how to behave in the future! Please feel free to share you thoughts in my future content and posts, I am eager to hear what you have to share! Upvoted 40%!!

We are human and we all make mistakes whatever the reasons Whoever admits wrong is in the right path to success and moving forward
Thanks for this artical i like it :) ;)

That's so true! Great stuff!! Please feel free to share your thoughts in future posts, I am eager to hear them and will upvote you some more!! upvoted 35%!!

Thank you for writing amazing content you motivate me every day 🙂

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you for continuing to come back to my page! Please feel free to share you thoughts in my future content and posts, I am eager to hear what you have to share! Upvoted 30%!!

There is always a chasm between defeat and victory. You need to breaking through with that in order to experience true freedom and peace.

Great post Sir @Luppers. 🙏
God bless you.!

Thank you for the kind words! Please feel free to share your thoughts on my posts again in the future, I am eager to hear what you have to say and will also give you generous upvotes! Upvoted 25%!!

Such a wonderful post

Thanks for the kind words! 10% upvote!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61035.98
ETH 2886.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67