Is Steem Accomplishing it's Goal of Success and Adoption?

in #steem5 years ago

   Is Steem What it Says it Is?

   I wasn't here in the beginning of steem and steemit.  I love the idea of a site rewarding content that is contributed.  I love the idea of networking.  I don't have millions of dollars to invest in steem nor would I take that big of risk if I did.  The minimal risk time for acquiring TONS of steem has passed but it may be coming back down again full circle.  The interesting thing is we've seen steem price go from 1.50 to .25 recently.  If the price goes low enough we may see it get closer and closer to where it was in the beginning.

Is Steem Rewarding Content?

   I have concern that vote trading, bid bots(a service that is paid to upvote your post because it has a lot of steem power(influence over future payouts of steem)), or vote following(just coming in behind a strong upvote) may be disruptive to rewarding quality content.  No I don't propose a better solution.

   I'm left thinking that someone had to be here early purchasing a large quantity of steem at minimal risk or if the price gets low enough believe that it could happen all over again.  To ask someone to invest a significant amount of money in steem right now appears to me to be passing out advice on a HIGH RISK investment.

   What about the person that doesn't invest or invests little.  Will we be able to keep them as a member?  How difficult is it for them to create content that is rewarded at least to it's value?  Is a person given a chance to work their way up in a reasonable amount of time?

I think every one of these questions and statements deserve attention if we are concerned about steem's future.  I'm a fan of steem, but I want it to fulfill it's vision and goal.

Below is some interesting stats on bringing in new members and where they come from source @penguinpablo

   

Sort:  

The risk associated with the investment you mention really depends on the perspective of whether investing money or time. If money, I agree that it continues to be speculative just like many developing technologies of the past. Those that need the money and cannot risk losing it should not take the risk. However, if it is about the time and effort, I see the risk/reward well worth it. Particularly if it is someone that already has the experience and/or passion with engaging on social platforms. While it could end of being an opportunity cost, they could always build upon the networking and community achieved by engaging in the ecosystem.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I appreciate your well thought out answer sincerely. It’s insightful. Thanks for replying.

Steem is here to stay and the community create his sucess every day. :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for your reply chesatochi :) Steem has a pretty strong position :)

I think the enemy of the type of success you're referring to, if you will, is the fact that the term quality is so subjective. What I like to read about, watch, listen to, and so on, will never match what the rest of the world does, or at least, not the majority of them. There will always be friends and acquaintances with things and topics of interest in common, though, of course. I also have "lower" standards of quality. If watching something on DTube, and someone's camera skills aren't the greatest, I'm not going to not upvote the post just because there was a tremour in the filming of it, for instance. Same for spelling errors, and so on. Doesn't make for bad quality. In my opinion, the only bad quality? Spam posts.

Thanks for putting so much into your reply. I'm just hoping that we focus on content appreciation rather than loop holes in the system or work to fix loop holes. How attractive are we to content creators and people with big followings. How is someone new to the site handled. Very important questions.

Definitely some very good points to consider, some of which I actually did not during my last reply. I think that the people with the big followings, they're the ones that we don't want up here coming from other places. because then again, it will just be the same power struggle that we've had for a long time. People not letting the smaller communities have a chance to grow. That's why we have to go a little bit gentler on the little ones, so to speak.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @marcuswahl! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61473.25
ETH 2969.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48