I need some steemit help

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

vraagtekens.gif

I have a lot of questions, but I will only ask one this time, for that's the one that's really confusing me.....

How do I know when I vote on a post, how much 'money' I give?
It feels like random to me. Sometimes it's one cent, sometimes three, but most of the time nothing.
My SP is also random (what a confusing business here on Steemit :-D ) and at this moment 15SP Yesterday 15,12SP.....
Today I voted and ...... nothing..... nill..... zero.... how come? ;-)

Okay I have two questions.....
How interesting is it to vote when I have nothing to give but my interest?

How do I get more SP? (okay three questions )

So please who knows the answer in simple english or dutch Jip en Janneke taal ;-)

Thanks so much !!

Sort:  

So your voting power grows as you earn more Steem Power. When you and others vote on your posts you earn Steem, Steem Power and SBD.

When the price of Steem is high you'll only earn SBD and Steem Power. But right now it's low so you'll earn Steem, SBD and Steem Power.

How much you give when you vote is based on your Steem Power. Right now you have 0.955 Steem Power and Steemit Inc have delegated 14.046 Steem power to you as part of your account creation.

The actual dollar value of your vote (what you see when you vote on a post or comment) will fluctuate as the price of Steem fluctuates. Which is why it changes all the time. A couple of days ago my maximum vote was around 20 cents. Today it's probably only 15 cents. A month or two ago, it was 30 cents.

You get more SP by creating content and receiving votes on your content and voting on your own and others content. When you vote on someone else's work you get what is called curation rewards which is a percentage of the posts value.

The other thing I recommend you do is look for writing contests to enter. This is an excellent way to get quick recognition for your skills as a writer and to win some Steem and SBD as a prize. Look under the contest or writing tags for any contests that are worth entering.

Hope this helps.

Yes this helps. A lot. THANKS Only one question remains....
If I vote with nothing (0 cents) do I still get curationsrewards?

Yes, your vote isn’t worth nothing. It might be 0.001 which you simply won’t see.

Well my final conclusion is.... just do what I like here on steemit and maybe someday I understand a little bit ....... ;-)

Even for people who've been here for a few months there is still al lot to learn every day (especially because we're in the middle of something that is still being created).

One thing you may also want to know: with every upvote you give, your VP goes down. It buids up again over time. Best thing to do is vote no more than 10 times a day (this forces you to really think about who or what post you vote for). If you do that it will take 24 hours to regain full VP again.

Here are some vids that might give you some answers to questions you haven't even thought of :-)

https://steemit.com/steemy/@flauwy/60-steem-video-tutorials-for-beginners-the-grand-steemy-collection

Hope it will help as much as it did me!

Btw Welcome to Steemit :-)

Well for instance..... funny you give a response on this post.... especially you.....
Tonight I voted on your post..... Nothing....
After I voted your post, I voted on ijmmai's post.... 1 cent
That's strange.... really strange.... I just don't understand that randomness.

I'll look at the link too. Thanks !!

Hi @marionsworld, those matters are really confusing. I have read some articules about it (down below there is one of them) but at the end nothing comes to a clear end. I think that all process is based on algorithims with so many variables that we can never have in hand to know what will happen with our votes.

As any other network, our votes al least means connections, and connection goes and come, and eventually somethig may happen!

Link:
https://steemit.com/curation/@themarkymark/the-truth-and

By the way, few days ago I just sent the Part II of the first post, and still working on some other ideas to post later. If you can please review it, thanks a lot!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69746.86
ETH 3747.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80