You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A safe, unsafe space

in #steem6 years ago

I remember having two conversations here in the comment section of this blog on politics, religion and philosophy with one user whose views were radically different from mine. In the first of the debates we both upvoted each other's comments. In the second, that didn't happen. But I've always thought highly of that guy (I don't remember his username, unfortonately) because he tacitly agreed to monetize the debate for the benefit of both of us despite the radical difference in our views. There was never a sense of personal attack on his part despite him demonstrating blatant contempt of my views. I really respect the way he keeps people and the ideas they hold separate.

Sort:  

I apply that strategy myself with some. Usually because either I can see some of their viewpoint and/or I respect their right to view something differently then I do. If though I feel strongly that someone really has a warped sense of something I don't always, even at that sometimes I will just to see where we can go further on the discussion.

The people who actually want to work out what is what in this life argue well. Those who only want to push their views, do not as they are like religous zealots, blind to themselves.

We either seek knowledge or in our pride deny we have more to learn.

The way one argues always shows which type he is.

This user that I'm talking about does, in my opinion, have very deeply held convictions that, I believe, stem partly from analysis and partly from philosophical approach based on temperament (It is quite normal for people to have their politics to be informed by their temperament). He is not stupid by any means and debating someone like that always makes one dig a little deeper and often learn something. But I'm not buying his views. There are too many holes in them, in my opinion. But for all practical purposes there exists no such thing as a worldview without flaws or failure to cover important aspects of life, universe and everything.

But for all practical purposes there exists no such thing as a worldview without flaws or failure to cover important aspects of life, universe and everything.

This is why the discussion is so important as it closes some old holes so we can move on and find new flaws :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57654.82
ETH 2888.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60