You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: If they only knew... - Bidbot abuse

in #steem6 years ago

Sounds good. It's really just information. You can choose to ignore information, so it's not like anything's being imposed on anyone.
I'd be interested to know how many are labouring under this impression.
I guess if they've followed some step by step instructions somewhere it's certainly possible that they are using bidbots without first having a real understanding of the basics.
I like it.

Sort:  

I distinctly remember someone complaining to @themarkymark because they had a negative ROI, as if that meant the bidbot was a scam.

It shows you the expectation people have when they use them. Meaning, in the mind of that particular Steemian, if he was not printing more money for himself, the service was not provided.

It makes you wonder how that came to be.

What bidbot operator sees himself/herself as a money printer? I'm seriously wondering.

Yeah, I've always been in two minds about bidbots.
If we wanted to kill them overnight a return to quadratic rewards would do the trick. Since there's apparently no broad appetite for that, I'm happy to default to 'code is law'.
Ultimately if the game has dumb rules, you don't get upset at the guy winning the game with dumb rules, you change the rules. I can't do that, so I'm not losing any sleep over bidbots.
They were the completely foreseeable consequence of linear rewards.
Play stupid games, win stupid prizes.
Happily there's enough competition in the space that they're not lucrative any more, at least not for the customers; and other options like steemhunt etc will offer new and exciting possibilities for SP hodlers, so it'll solve itself in time.

OK, we're definitely not clones. @Tarazkp, you can rest easy, Matt thinks SteemHunt is a good thing and that quadratic rewards would kill bots.

I haven't looked at steemhunt closely. It may be the devil; but it's another direction in which to delegate one's SP, which can't help the bidbots (unless I'm missing something).
I'm very confident quadratic rewards would hurt the bidbots.
If I can halve your post reward using a quarter of the voting power you just paid for, that's going to suck for you, and you're going to stop doing it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63236.79
ETH 3280.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85