You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Sometimes an upvote is just the smart thing to do

in #steem8 years ago

For me as a beginner it's sometimes hard to understand why some posts get upvoted so heavily while other stuff is pretty much ignored. The inner workings of the voting system are not yet very clear to me. Hope to get a better grasp on it soon.

Sort:  

Bottom line is the distribution is not spread out wide enough yet for the "whales" or people with large voting power to see everything.. Then once a "whale" up votes a post all other follow them and up vote as well.

So it's basically a matter of perseverance and luck to be recognized in the first place?

Yeah I would say more perseverance over the long term.. But yeah initially some luck would do you good. I was lucky enough for bernie sanders to see one of my posts and earned a couple hundred $'s. . All my other posts earn around 10 - 20 cents because of my followers. So getting followers also helps.

becoming involved in the community is important too... commenting on posts etc. Your comment on this led me to your page and your excellent photos. I'm now following and have up voted a couple already.

I doubt many people upvote more than 50 times a day, which means that they are only using a small percentage of their daily voting power, there is no excuse to not diversify voting.

Except time.. I know I only have enough time to read 10 - 20 posts per day before I get fatigued. And I am sure the whales are fatigued as well. But yes I agree and I try to up vote everything that comes through my feed that I think is good content. - Like this article.

I don't have much time either,but when I come here to browse occasionnally I always go to the introduceyourself section first and upvote every posts where I see there was some effort put in. I don't waste my time in the trending part because I want to make a difference, increasing a post from 231 to 232 upvotes doesn't make any.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 71526.27
ETH 3810.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.49