A little bit for the piggy

in #steem6 years ago (edited)
I've been thinking lately if there is a smarter way of approaching this whole craziness we've dubbed volatility. I mean, all of us want to be exposed to the coins going up, to mooning as we like to call it. But, maybe it's silly or naive to have that strategy, to play everything on the moon.



img src

STEEM's Advantage that I'm not using


We actually have an asset that is designed to stay around 1 USD at all time. Ideally for proper commerce, it stays there, and it get's spent as it should. But, since the blockchain stopped printing them I've been powering up everything and I do mean everything, so I've not taken part of this advantage.

What do I mean? Well, yes I will admit, this account has grown, in "theory" I'm doing so much better than a year ago, when I first started my crazy little journey. However, It's hard for me psychologically to sell these tokens. They are STEEM tokens, not unimpressive SBD (silliness added for effect). It was a lot easier for me to put some in the piggy bank when they were just SBDs, not STEEM.

As a result, there's no piggy bank, at least for me that is. I've not been converting STEEM tokens to SBD to put some aside to pay some bills, and if I'm to be completely honest, I can't afford to be that stubborn about it.

Buy some SBDs?


Is that the answer? And that is the question I'm posing here to my fellow steemians, my small, crazy, yet amazing community. It seems reasonable at least to a point, to be buying some SBDs, exit the volatility of the STEEM token, and make the sailing a little bit safer, just a little bit.

More and more I'm starting to understand the dormant whales that sit on thousands of SBDs seemingly doing nothing with them. I think I've been looking at that behavior wrongfully thinking they don't want to put those funds to work, yet maybe they were thinking the whole time.

"Oh... here we go, 400 SBDs for my piggy"

I'm sure I won't get an answer from them, from the ones with the eye popping wallets and that's ok. Still, I would like to know what my fellow Steemians think. I wanna know...

Do you have a piggy too?

• Coinbase to give it a go?
• Can you guess who is still around?
• What about the fun?
• Songwriter Shop Talk Choonicide Episode
• All those dead accounts...
Sort:  

I converted all of my steem to sbd when it was near 1:1 a few days ago. I haven't traded them as actively as I should have, and I haven't traded anything in/out as much as I would have liked due to the loss from friction eating potential gains.

Well as a new user to steem/steemit I've been struggling to wrap my head around the uses for the different aspects of steem as well. Power is very obvious and holds the most well power of the 3. SBD, it seems I have little use for at the moment (not looking to cash out since I just bought in) and other than voting bots there really isn't a way to spend it. STEEM itself, well thats the most versatile of the 3. Fully liquid, transferable and can be used for many of the same things as SBD.

So I continue to muddle through, learning as I go, testing the different waters and methods in the hope that I can find one that works for me

you seem to be doing pretty good... that being said, get yourself a facelift... believe it or not the avatar makes a difference

;)

I wish I had more Steem Dollars...

Posted using Partiko iOS

you and I both bud

Me gustaría tener el conocimiento del movimiento de steem y sbd que tu tienes, pero lamentablemente no lo tengo y ademas me cuesta entender tantas cosas de esta tecnología y este mundo de economía virtual del que solo me queda seguir viviendo este mundo al que llegue muy tarde
I would like to have the knowledge of the movement of steem and sbd that you have, but unfortunately I do not have it and besides, it is difficult for me to understand so many things about this technology and this world of virtual economy of which I can only continue living this world to which I arrive very late .
Remember that I use a translator to try to communicate with you.

creo que es un proceso lento, pero con una recompensa muy grande para aquellos que no desisten. Quizas ese sea el unico truco, no parar, no dejar de aprender, no dejar de preguntar...

I bought about 50 SBD the other day. When it is below a dollar, it seems like a no brainer. It is possible that could even go lower.... but it is more possible that trend lines will continue.

Steem could be at $2 next week while SBD languishes at $1 but it is more likely that Steem will be at $0.90 or possibly even lower.

well played, you are playing it smart there jeezzle.. i wish i could say the same.. seems like everything i try to predict the market, i stab myself in the foot with a pencil.

Well, Steem is at $0.82 and we've just found out that the Goldman Sachs news about not supporting Bitcoin has proven to be false Market manipulation. Seems a good time to get some BTC or Steem.... or SBD. Or EOS even. Everything else is meh.

There has been an excellent opportunity to peg SBD to 1.0USD lately without too much trouble because price is near 1.0 and I'm not hearing anything about it being done yet... Have you? Any news on that?

I'm not sure about a piggy, but I've been buying SBD on the theory that they may be worth more Steem later, whereas they're unlikely to be worth significantly less than 1 Steem given what we've seen the market do in the past.

did you see what jeezzle wrote? hrmmm hopefully we get back to the direction we were going, i just confirmed it... funny enough.. bitcoin got fakenewsd.

Bitcoin's constantly getting fakenewsed in both directions. I'm not sure we can judge much by any specific one.

Still, I'm testing ways to get USD on here. Square Cash worked pretty well, albeit with a lot of back and forth with support to get started, but it should be basically instant from debit card to BTC now. Still waiting on Coinbase Pro and their small limits and slow timing.

I haven't been thinking about SBDs lately, I haven't had any need to convert anything to fiat, so I've just been powering up my steem.

its accumulation zone amber, no doubt...

I don't have a piggy bank at the moment but I am trying my best to 'level' up and be in a position where I can start building a bank!

As much as I am not active lately I still post from time to time and get some SP and Steem that way.

I have not traded Steem to SBD lately and before what I used to do was use the SBD to get more Steem when the price is right.

Every little thing counts and maybe 5-8 years the price of the SP we are keeping and accumulating will be a lot higher.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63240.82
ETH 3048.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80