Abandoned

in #steem5 years ago

For some reason I was thinking back to my first days on this platform, the first greetings I received, the first people I followed and found myself remembering some user handles as well, only to find abandoned accounts left and right.

I often wonder if some of the abandoned accounts are lost forever. In other words, the users who owned them, lost access or worse, and it makes me imagine how it will feel for them in the future.

I mean, imagine an abandoned account holding 80 steem, which at this every moment is not much at all, but in the future who knows. If things go as planned, if the developers of this community and the current members pull this off, there is no reason why STEEM could not reach 40, 50 USD or more five years from now. Imagine having to look at the balance of a wallet that you've lost access to and knowing how much you could use those four thousand dollars right now.

That being said, it's all part of how these new economies work. This is to say that in a way, for those of us who stay active, a part of the reason why the tokens we hold will increase in price, is because there are all these "lost forever" tokens on wallets who's owners can't access anymore.

It would be interesting to pull a report of how much steem has been for lack of a better term, abandoned. How many wallets are dormant, and how much they hold.

Maybe I'll play with hivemind after all.

@meno

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

I wouldn’t focus for on abandoned accounts!

Let’s foucus on BUIDLing

The more killer Dapp our Blockchain has the more people will onboard

Also most people joined STEEM only because of money and they had

ZERO creativity
ZERO imagination
ZERO understanding

Let’s make sure we focus on the people are still here and welcome the new ones

Truth here!

ZERO creativity
ZERO imagination
ZERO understanding

May be we also see how to inculcate in the active users, especially the newbies:

  • Creative thinking
  • Creative Imaginations
  • Understanding pills

Thanks for the follow. I tirelessly worked on @steemcamp last year.. I am getting ready for Season 2 this year.. What do you think ?

It will be interesting to see people frantically staring at their Steem Wallets because there's still 10 STEEM in it... And they didn't even bother keeping their keys safe for those 10 STEEM since 'they were worth shit' :-)

I think Satoshi or one of the early workers/developers on BTC said when coins are lost it's like a small donation to everyone who holds that crypto.

I'll have to go back and look at my introduce me post as well as I'm assuming most accounts aren't even active anymore. I have some friends that hold like 10 - 20 Steem that I doubt will ever be on the platform again so it would be interesting to see how much Steem is owned by accounts who've done nothing on the blockchain for more than a year.

The great thing about void accounts is the value of those locked coins gets distributed to everyone in the form of deflation.

If you burned USD the fed would just thank you for the free money.

If we can provide real jobs for people they'll return and be able to make the money back in no time.

PS
Three people I told to make accounts have lost their keys.

Seriously ...even I saw in my dead follower list. There are many account who are not active but still have some balance left in their account. They might have left that ...without estimating the real value of steem

Posted using Partiko Android

Just like Satoshi Nakamoto said, lost coins help to make the remaining coins more valuable. In this case it literally is, because they don't contribute to rshares.

Posted using Partiko Android

Very true. I have one of those abandoned accounts with 35 steem in it and there is no way of accessing it. As you say in the years to come it could be worth something and it is lost forever. I suppose the good thing is that it ties up some Steem and I believe that what you find is quite a few of these account wrecks dotted around.

We are still years away of this becoming into the light as the current inflation deploys more than enough supply that is needed. As we build the ecosystem, the focus should be in demand and how we get more involved. I suspect that as adoption increases and prices improve, we will see dormant accounts again.

Posted using Partiko iOS

STEEM can be at 50$ . Its have a great potential to do it . Just need more and more user which is increasing day by day .

Posted using Partiko Android

Take a look at @bookingteam (or was it @thebookingteam). Business account, 20k+ Steem Power. Closed shop, not sure if the guy responsible still has the private keys.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sometimes i sit down and i imagine how many worth of steem power or steem are in the abandon accounts and sometimes i wish why can not we just use this steem power to encourage those who are still active

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66761.99
ETH 3256.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27