You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Don't Ask What You Can Do For Steem, Ask What Steem Can Do For You

in #steem5 years ago

I'm sorry but I can't take you seriously on this front. The title of this post is antithesis of meritocracy and is drenched in entitlement. I mean, you have a right to speak your mind, have at it. But, you've basically drafted an anti-economic model where illiquidity incentives are removed, thus throwing off simple supply/demand dynamics.

I did read your medium article a while back, sadly it was tinged with very much the same ethos that you are displaying here, but of course, it was adorned with hyperbole.

Don't get me wrong, I'm glad you are back. We need voices that challenge consensus, but I would like to know how you've landed on this socio-economic model, because the only parallel I can draw, and it's a far stretch, is somewhat Marxist. Meaning, people should take from those who have, because X.

Looking forward to reading the development of this conversation.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

I can see how your points are valid -- my wording on this article is a bit extreme and perhaps misleading. We might not see perfectly eye to eye but let me try to clarify and I'd really like to hear your thoughts on this:

This article isn't aimed at everybody. It is aimed at my audience, which is mostly composed of poor / working class artists who are struggling and working several jobs, managing freelance careers that are not yet abundant, etc etc etc.

My point here is really that people should avoid OVERinvesting in steem. My point is that some people should probably not power up at all, they should cash out and use the money to pay off debts, to pay for groceries, etc etc.

I know there are many people, such as myself prior to the time of the "Why I Left Steem" article, who have had 50%+ of their entire net worth in steem. I fully accept that this was my own fault - Steem did not do it to me. However, I feel I have a duty to help others avoid that mistake. To these people I say, please stop, please be more selfish, because you need to get your own shit together first.

If anything, this mindset may actually help to empower Steemians. Does that seem a bit more reasonable to you? If not, it's all good, I appreciate the intelligent opposition. Cheers dude!

there is a lot of good points in this response, and im happy to see a more balanced approach to your findings.

Cheers mate.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57859.61
ETH 2966.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67