Quite refreshing to seesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steem5 years ago
Like many other crypto enthusiasts, I find myself looking at charts quite often. Yes, it's true I've said I don't necessarily consider myself a trader, and I certainly don't believe that even the best TA guru is prophetic, but they are a good indication of market sentiment, and deprived from positive news or FUD, they can somewhat predict market movement to a certain degree.



Market Depth


Is for me one of those things not enough people talk about however. It's a simple way of visualizing the potential volume of a certain asset. I say potential because it can change at any time, but how it looks, the amount of buyers and sellers on the books, also affect the incoming buyers and sellers. In other words, this simplified visual is very influential just by itself.

I took a snapshot of the current market depth, and I can't help but to like what I see here. A big wall of people who are hungry for cheap STEEM, and a very small wall of people who are willing to let it go at these low prices. Needless to say, this means that HODLing is in full effect, at least at the time this post of mine is being crafted.

So are we bottomed out?


I think so, but of course, how would I really know? There is no way anyone could. Tomorrow the SEC could release a statement that Vitalik is responsible for Trump's election and the market would react with insanity, and yes I'm being a little ridiculous at this point.

The truth is that I believe, and I'm ok with being wrong, that all the recent FUD has been an attempt to manipulate the prices down so that big institutions can get in. An old tactic that has scared most of the retail speculators off the market and has made them dump their holdings at bargain prices. So a better question to ask would be: Are these people done FUDing?

At any rate... this market depth picture is making me smile, at least for now.

Sort:  

Yeah prices are slowly rising, which means that maybe in December we’d see Steem go up in price again.

Posted using Partiko iOS

not holding my breath, but im hoping for the best

It´s pretty common to see buy walls in bear markets and sell walls in bull markets. If I were you I wouldn´t read so much into that.

The great wall rises very high. slowly the large wall will be parallel to the small wall, only takes time.😂

Steem has been one of the worst performers in last 1 month and it also hasn't popped like other alts in last few days, I think a mini rally could be possible but everything depends on Bitcoin.

Posted using Partiko Android

I saw a video by a pro trader who thinks BTC will drop to $1,500 for a bit... Then again, he was dead wrong about BTC making a bounce to all-time highs after the february crash... Perhaps the momentum of the market causes that guy to be over-zealous...

I'm mainly hoping for lots of volatility so everyone can trade easier — and a steady climb would be great too!!!

Being honest, I personally think that there will be some selling pressure soon to test the lows especially considering that the Steemit Inc announcement has not been fully baked in as some may be waiting on some power downs to sell since the announcement. However, I will continue my frequent purchases and probably make them larger to accumulate as much as I can given the opportunity.

Posted using Partiko iOS

they are a good indication of market sentiment, and deprived from positive news or FUD, they can somewhat predict market movement to a certain degree.

That's exactly right :-) And yes; that's a rather huge buy-wall... A lot of people waiting for the next leg down for BTC, as predicted by many TA guys... We'll just have to wait and see what BTC does, unfortunately. Personally I don't see a good reason for another leg down, but then again, when has this market ever needed a good reason for it's movements... 😋

it could happen... but I also dont think it will.... ;)

I'm personally aseptically of walls, the can be controlled by a few large buyers and can move very easy

Nobody really knows, but it does look like we've finally seen the bottom. Now we just have to wait and see if we start forming higher highs again. It kinda sucks though if true. I wanted to get some really really cheap Steem, now I have to settle with really cheap. :P

hahahah yesss I agree

🏆 Hi @meno! You have received 0.1 STEEM reward for this post from the following subscribers: @cardboard
Subscribe: automatically support your favourite steem authors :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95