Shaking off the takers

in #steem5 years ago (edited)
I had a great conversation with one of our platform's whales and without mentioning names, this whale said something that actually made me smile a bit. "People who are here just to take already left.. that's a good thing" and the apparent negative comment, was actually a silver lining I had not thought about enough.

You see, when STEEM is up, when the price is mooning as the kids call it these days, it's easy to be excited, to want to post, to want to participate in contests. For the most part the people that show up when the price is high, are the same people that will leave as soon as the price is too low.

I mean, how many times have I heard the phrase "It's not worth it for me!" since I joined this platform? I lost count long ago, and I'm not exaggerating. But the implications of such a phrase are not too pleasant to say the least, they've always had a tinge of entitlement that made me uncomfortable.

At this point in time however, who out of those "where is my upvote, I'm amazing" do we have left? In truth this bear market has weeded most of them out, and as mean as it may seem to say so, that might be a very bullish thing for the ecosystem.

Think about it for one second, Who do we want having influence here? Those who are only here to take, when the times are good? Or those who have a commitment to build regardless of the dollar valuation? I think the answer is pretty obvious, don't you?

So in this past week we may have shaken off the last of the takers, the ones who I'm sure will be back, and I'm sure will complain about how nobody supports them, and how awesome they are. It's just that right now, they are not here to change the dynamic they hate so much, right now, in the very moment when they actually could.

We humans can be quite silly, right?

Sort:  

I find this dynamic utterly amazing. Or I find it amazing how epically I fail at basic economics.

I usually post more when the price feed is low. Somehow I find more attraction in it, it does fill me with more of a "stayer" feel.

More so it gives me a better degree of satisfaction using that always less valuable (financially) but ever more significant small upvote I have when hitting that dust threshold requires always more VP.

Addendum: of course, low price feed also adds complexity and to me makes the rewards more valuable on a sentimental basis.

I’m actually happy the weak ones got weeded out because this is a long term strategy that has a future. Steemit, is more like a long term investment of time and energy, it’s gonna pay off in big rewards in the future but just not right now.

So people can take their few hundred dollars while we wait for our few millions in the future.

Posted using Partiko iOS

These bear markets are really underrated. Cheap Steem... weed out the riff raff... Lovin it!

Totally agree @memo but us who are left have substance. My writing skills are improving no end, a good reason to stay on Steemit.

There are the good times and there are the bad times. It's an endless cycle. Right now we are in the bad times but not to worry the cycle will be in the good times sometime in the future. The Moroccon's use a great method in retail. When they were trying to sell me a scarf they asked me how valuable was the scarf to me. And thats how much I should pay.( In the end it was 40 degrees out so i offered him very little and he told me where to go but that is not the point. )How valuable is steem to you? An awful lot more than 40 cent. Thats for sure!

Yeah, I'm still here, plugging away. Steemit is as good of a place to blog on as any, and better than most.
It's not like I'd go back to faceplant anyway, ya know?

It is definitely insightful as the ones who take are probably those who have been selling on the way down. As they leave, they will also leave more of the reward pool for those who stay and engage!

Always here Unc Meno,...steem is my baby,,..Thank you fir your support, measnn a lot

Wow! What a perspective! Thanks for sharing.
Hope for the best!

Posted using Partiko iOS

All completely valid and truthful points. It’s nice to see a large group of regulars committed to putting out quality regardless of the price point. Those are the people I’m interested in getting to know and building bonds with.

😂. On point.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60832.04
ETH 2902.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55