Steem based game idea: Steem Raffle

in #steem5 years ago (edited)
Last night, partly because I kept on looking at charts and when I get into that zone I can't seem to sleep right away, I started to think of a game, something fun for people to do while they wait out the winter so to speak. Now, I'm not sure if this has been done before, but it could be fun, or at least, I think it could be fun.



img src

The core idea

A talented developer could probably code this very fast, and we sure got plenty of those on the blockchain ocean. The idea would be that this raffle-bot game, would have an interface to interact with it, and setup the particular raffles' parameters. Now, because the game itself could add a layer of good so to speak, I would love to see this coded with the idea of fundraising for initiatives and projects.

Let me run you through the steps:

  • I setup a raffle, set the funds I want to start with, if any.
  • I choose beneficiaries for the raffle, thing about good causes here (ex. project support).
  • Post the raffle.
  • People would "buy" their tickets via upvotes or transfers.
  • After payout, one lucky winner gets the liquid funds.
  • The raffle system gets a small cut, let's say 5% or so.
  • The beneficiary gets 45% of vested earnings.

Why?


It's not that I'm one to push gambling on people, but this seems to be, at least to me, a very low risk, fun activity to partake of on the STEEM blockchain. Honestly, I would be surprised if someone has not thought of a game of the sort, because as far as I can remember and easy way for my school class to collect funds for trips and events was to run a raffle.

Other considerations


Technically anyone could run a raffle, and someone could just be doing them to enrich himself, but it would be up to the community to "not buy" raffles from people who have no mission so to speak.

I don't have much in the way of concerns when it comes to spam/abuse, because a simple condition can be implemented if this was to happen. For example, all raffles could have a hard minimum as the starting pot prize, this surely cut spam dead in it's tracks.

What do you think?


I would be willing to chip in for the development of this game, and I believe as I said, that for a talented developer this would take very little time to implement.

Let me know your thoughts!


View this post on Steeve

Sort:  

People already do these informally. Some have gotten flack for it too because it just seems like mostly run by greed and not charity, which isn't so surprising. (Some have rented delegation in the past for this purpose, so the minimum pool idea isn't foolproof). For charities, I've also seen raffles run informally too. It's not that much effort to run one manually, so I do question the value of automating it. And there's also the question of doing so in a trustworthy manner.

I think it is a great idea there are many who setup posts with similar rules, but to be able to run them from a trusted site would hold more interest to me.

Im always down for a little gamble, but I think it would be doubly interesting if the prizes were a bit more varied; an SBD prize, a Delegation prize, some Steem monster cards, an art print......you know, I think that would make it more a raffle than just a lottery

Seems like something viable that could be done and supported by the community but I will be concerned about the number of bot accounts that could be setup to get unfair advantages to participants. Though the main purpose is to fund a project or charity, it could lead to users not wanting to engage due to bots.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Like it - any contest, game or service that draws use of steem is a positive for the community and the coin.

i just noticed that eos has a bunch of gambling dapps

not that i'm into gambling either (not beyond buying steem that is (-:

There is @steemdice i think it is on this blockchain if you're looking for some gambling. Simple and fun.

@aussieninja has @rollthedice and a few others which are rather cool

@meno you just want to run my !lotto here on steem :-)

Shake shake shake, you roll the 6-sided die.

You rolled a 5.

Just checked there it's @magicdice. Really nice set up and fun to play. It's very well presented and easy to use.

Posted using Partiko Android

I think it is a good idea cause is a raffle with a good
purpose!

🏆 Hi @meno! You have received 0.1 STEEM reward for this post from the following subscribers: @cardboard
Subscribe: automatically support your favourite steem authors :)

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Hi @meno!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 6.145 which ranks you at #262 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 1 places in the last three days (old rank 261).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 271 contributions, your post is ranked at #4.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61830.08
ETH 2986.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73