Things I don't understand

in #steem5 years ago

I'm sure there will be hundreds of posts about this, and truthfully it's to be expected at this point in time. I'm trying to be mentally flexible to understand the reasoning behind this, the calculations that someone made in order to make this particular move, but I'm having a hard time doing so.



I'm trying to be fair and also objective about this too. I mean, without a doubt @ned powering down is not something that gave people the warm fuzzies, but as the mantra says, your stake, your call. However, this is entirely different to me, and I don't believe the ramifications of this action was calculated at all.

Things are not pretty, we know this, we are experiencing in many ways the ugliest part of the bear market. Communities are struggling to stay active, authors have left, and even the most positive of personalities is struggling to keep on smiling through it all. I have to admit, I'm guilty of this myself and even though I believe there are incredible people on STEEM, capable, intelligent and talented, I'm also aware that nothing is guaranteed and thus blindly cheerleading, pretending everything is fine, is far from productive.

I won't hold my breath, but I sincerely hope that @ned and @steemit practice some radical transparency here, because as they say: "Perception is truth", and if this move, this seemingly sneaky memo that most people would have missed, if I'm to be honest, is all that we are going to get from the higher ups, then I would not be surprised if this causes a wave of panic, that results of course, in the token dumping lower and lower.

Cards on the table here, I'm personally at a point where I've not lost my faith in the people that are part of this blockchain, in the witnesses who care and show us so every single day, but I'm not where I used to be, mentally that is, regarding the well being of Steemit Inc, the company.

I'm not trying to add to the panic stew here, but I would lie if I pretended seeing that massive powerdown didn't make me uncomfortable, more so because a generic sounding memo is all the "communication" we currently have.

@meno

Sort:  

I'm taking a wait and see approach too. A lot will depend on if the community takes more responsibility for running and coding improvements. It's economically hard for the witnesses to pay for this at present, but in the long-term it'd be good to see more impovements initiated by witnesses. Meanwhile, steem on.

There isn’t enough information to know what they’re doing with the Steem. Securing it isn’t a bad idea and it could be that they’re using it to pay people or it could be that they want to party like it’s 1999. We just don’t know.

Perhaps we need a concentrated effort to get @ned to communicate with the community to spell it out.

Also, if Ned leaves, the blockchain survives. We can keep it running and turn over development to the community.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Poor leadership is worse than no leadership

It looks like that the captain is leaving the ship...

Posted using Partiko Android

I was under the impression that musing was doing a fantastic job... and dsound kept the musicians here... I just don't know what to say at this point... I'm very upset

Musing has been in power down for weeks.

They take no beneficiary %. Server fees have to be paid somehow, and thats how they chose to do it.

They said it's because they have to pay curators.

are they exiting the building?

They said that's not the plan, and that musing does not stop here, but the actions show otherwise. That's all I can say publicly.

wait ...musing is pulling a dlive ?

We don't know yet but we'll see soon.

Maybe they are trying to move it to a multi-sig wallet? So I hope.

Stinc have held back steem in my view. The disappearance without any communication from @ned was really poor. Now they are moving funds, it's almost like they are intentionally trying to drive the price down at this stage.

I just hope steem survives long enough for the witnesses to get together and start funding their own blockchain development. That seems to be the most critical work they do at the moment and we should look for some alternatives on that front, just incase stinc continues its dismal spiral downwards.

For me, I guess my trust in Steemit Inc., is where it's been from the beginning, @meno, but then, I'm just barely a year on STEEM, and so haven't had much to go on to throw my trust behind Steemit Inc.

At the same time, I find the actions of some on this platform to be more dubious, if not damaging, than that of Steemit Inc, simply because instead of building community, what they're doing tends to tear it down bit by bit.

There's honest expressions of concerns and feelings (which I feel is what you're doing), and there's something else. Something that has more of a wounded animal feel to it, or maybe something worse, like wanting to see the world burn.

Neither is helpful, but it is good to know who those folks are and what they're intentions might be.

So, I'm finding myself still navigating more or less as I did from the beginning—just with a year under my belt and a little more stake than I started out with, trying to see who's going to keep their cool long enough to be here when/if things turn around.

I want to believe they will. I think they can if cooler heads prevail. I don't think the wider crypto market cares what we do. I think most investors don't even know about STEEM. So, whatever damage we can do, we will do to ourselves for now. That's good (it might actually keep STEEM from tanking the way it could if we were any larger at this point), but I'd prefer if there were a community still here holding it together because we know what we have here, rather than it being torn apart by those who are either upset they can't have their way, feel like they've been done wrong so let it burn, or by those who think they know something/everything when they know very little.

I don’t even begin to know what to think about this. 😳 It certainly doesn’t inspire confidence. 😖 Thank you for your candor, Meno. 💜 I’m still here because of you and those like you — as long as you’re still around, I’m not goin’ anywhere.

Hi @meno!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 6.117 which ranks you at #271 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 1 places in the last three days (old rank 272).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 226 contributions, your post is ranked at #1. Congratulations!

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Not just the powering down should bother you. Stinc is has taken their delegations from dsound, musing, sndbox and I am guessing this is just the beginning. These projects are in their infantile stage and may not survive this. Speak about calling dapps, this is a bullet to the chest.

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow... Just saw the undelegations...

Posted using Partiko Android

That's my major fear not stinc powering down. They are leaving and are stabbing us in the place the hurts the most, our precious dapps. I became a minnow due to the support of the awesome musing dapp. And it hurts so much that they have been treated this way. This is one of the most active dapps on the steem blockchain so I really do not understand this move by stinc.

My deal breaker would be them taking their delegations form dtube. That's like the only fun thing on this blockchain for me. And not just fun, I earn most of my steem using dtube, so... I don't know men! It is crazy

Posted using Partiko Android

You can't power down without taking back delegations.

Should be a lesson to all dapps, delegations can be withdrawn without warning at any point.

Time for any serious project to look at better funding models with more long term security

I think it's pretty obvious @utopian-io saw this coming a mile away. They were talking about funding themselves the second ned started powering down.

At this point i literally have no clue of what's gonna follow.....or i don't wanna put my mind in that state

While it seems that there is more to this move, it is being reporting that they are doing this in response to a github development to hard fork the protocol to eliminate their stake. That is another extreme that I believe is also not in the best interest in the short run so I guess more to come with all this. I do think that @ned is gone and they haven’t announced succession which is leading to these poor decisions. Maybe they have also sold their stake to another Company? I think the latter two would be great news considering the last three months!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64158.52
ETH 3293.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.46