Thoughts on STEEM's current status

in #steem6 years ago
Activity levels have dropped considerably at this point and of course it's understandable. The hardfork last week, the fear that followed it, and the convenient sprouting of other networks, made for a perfect blend for this to become the case, but believe it or not I'm not worried, not in the slightest.



themerkle.com

Have the rewards gone up?


I'm sure you've noticed that your payouts have increased, and this is happening without the price of STEEM going up, almost at all. Well, the truth here is that millions and I do mean millions of spam transactions have been toned down considerably due to the fork.

You may not think that the less than one cent upvote accounts, most of them using Steemit Inc's faucet to create spam farms would add to much, but If memory serves me right, there has been spam farms found that pull thousands of dollars per day from the system. So what do you know? Resource credits do have a positive side after all.

This basically means that real users, the ones that don't comment 500 times a day, or plagiarise silly pictures and trigger botnets to upvote them, actual humans are being compensated more for the value they put in. Regardless of how much more fine tuning the system may need, I think we can at least agree the future is looking good here.

Account claiming craziness


Yes, some accounts got in trouble for claiming thousands of accounts, but the system is actually working the way it should. I think it's important to know the reasoning behind this idea, the way that it's going to help this blockchain grow in ways that we simply could not prior to this implementation.

As we know, getting your account on this blockchain has never been a two clicks and go kind of situation. As a matter of fact, I clearly remember losing some friends to the the long wait and having to help more than one youtuber get his account up and running.

This new system is the fix to that conundrum, and I can't wait to see how dapps will begin to implement this into their systems. I strongly believe that when @dtube and @partiko, get the ball rolling we will see the influx of new users that would make this blockchain flourish.

Competition is out there


Good, that is always a good thing and I don't think any of us should be worried about that. I mean, we can't claim to like the idea of free markets and at the same time expect for an element of free-markets to not be present, competitors.

This is without even mentioning all over again how this is not necesarily something new. But, for the sake of entertaining some of the FUD concerns, let me ask pose some questions.

Did Facebook kill twitter? Did Twitter kill Reddit? Did reddit kill instagram? I think you get the idea. Since we are bound to become a blockchain of dapps, equating STEEM to Steemit is not actually correct, and that distinction seems to be missed by many people who are signaling the end.

Patience


The word of the week, no, that's not right, the word of the month possibly the year. This whole ecosystem has been evolving right before our eyes and it will continue to do so. I actually remember reading an old post by @ned where he spoke about STEEM as the blockchain for dapps and I sat there scratching my head, but now I can totally see that the path forward is such.

If I was a gambling man, I would say we are about to start moving up any second now. Not only STEEM, I'm talking about the whole cryptosphere. It's been bottomed out for a while now, and we just need a good little bump for "hope" to return.

Until then, and even then, I'll keep on Steemin

Sort:  

Greetings @meno.

No Nutella here?

Thank you for writing about the elephant in the room.....in the halls of Steemit.

Your well written explanation of some of the changes that will benefit Steemians is appreciated.

Free enterprise and capitalism are part of freedom.....thank you for giving them a mention.

All the best to you.

Cheers!

Hahahha I figured I could implement Nutella on the next one. Cheers mate

Posted using Partiko Android

hola bro! me gusto mucho tu publicación es muy interesante me gustaría ayudarte tanto resteemeandolo como dándote mi voto solo una pregunta he visto en vídeos que se puede fraccionar el voto tanto para dar mas o para dar menos ¿como podría fraccionar el voto para ayudarte mas?
gracias por leer amigo si sabes la respuesta comenta mela por favor gracias :)

hola nexus, no te preocupes por ello por ahora, cuando tengas 500 STEEM power vas a poder fraccionar el voto, mientras tanto el sistema no te da la opción porque el voto es bien pequeño.

Hi @meno

I fully agree with you. We strongly believe our app @share2steem will pull thousands of new members when we have sufficient SP to create new accounts, as it does not even require to know how the blockchain works (nevertheless it is a nice pretext for someone to get interested in it).

Steemit will not kill traditional social media, for sure, but thanks to @share2steem it will make use of them, as people are now able to post on Steem blockchain thanks to traditional social apps (currently Instagram, Twitter and Youtube) and get paid for it.

Feel free to take a look !

I love the idea of using existing centralized social media as front ends like a parasitic organism in order to draw in their user base. How good for Steem and its price this will be in the final analysis depends, IMO, on whether a significant proportion of these new Steemians will eventually migrate to dApps. I believe a lot of them will as they notice the fact that they can access countless other apps using their Steem account.

hey bud.. i'm going to check out your app, i was not familiar with it... but of course, i'm all for bringing more and more dapps into our ecosystem.

I noticed that my rewards went up. I was thinking what's the reason and you just wrote about it. Overall great post! Highly resteemed.

I like your article, I noticed the increase in vote value but thought the system was tweaked during the fork. Competitors are everywhere but steem feels like home. I like the cozy vibe around here and hope it only get better.

The exchange blackout is what bothers me the most, hope they open soon enough. It's been a long wait.

@themarkymark just posted about @bittrex being back up and running... i tested it this morning, everything is good to go!

Can you buy steem directly with fiat on Bittrex?

Yes Amber, but you have to apply for it, its not enabled by default.

Well, the truth here is that millions and I do mean millions of spam transactions have been toned down considerably due to the fork.

Not to mention the SDL downvote bot nets are effectively done for. We have observed a rise of bid bot abuse, however, which is troubling.

Take the blog, @askquestion, for example. This is the kind of stuff that is a eyesore to the platform and I hope we all together will be able to devise a more effectual way to deal with it.

Lately, I have been optimistic with folks like you and other showing support to moderation. I think we work to that end and we will see more folks willing to contribute in meaningful ways and not become disheartened when they see how much more effective it is to manipulate the system to be rewarded.

One of the most pervasive problems is the bid bots that upvote without discretion. No blacklists or reporting mechanism such as seems the case for @emperorofnaps. They continue to grow as it is financially advantagepus in the short term for them to be apathetic. I think it would behoove us all to come up with a solution to put these kinds out of business.

I commend the responsible bot owners out there that are willing to forego profit for the bigger picture. Anyways, I hope I am able to get things going with @steemflagrewards and maybe, just maybe, you can give us a plug in one of your posts so as to help get the word out.

HF 20 was progress in the fight against spam and other activities that compromise the legitimacy of our chain but we have a way to go I think.

Posted using Partiko Android

I insist the judo move here is to create an smt based on down vote curation for just this type of thing. Creating an incentive for cleaning out our blockchain is sustainable.

Posted using Partiko Android

@meno,

You are absolutely right, sir. I believe it's a great idea. We just need to work out how to implement.

Bot maintenance has been running me ragged but should be getting the bot on @themarkymarks host that way my other team members can share the pain and I can focus hopefully on getting more work on the SMT.

Thinking it will be a sort of flag bank if you will. Good flags are tracked and compensated once threshold is reached. Lot of potential I think. Only wished there was more time in the day.

Posted using Partiko Android

This platform has giving me new inspiration! I'm totally in it for the community, knowledge and insights. Thanks for your optimism and realistic attitude. As a newbie, I've noticed that I have more than 2 cents a post now, so something must have changed or getting into @discord might be helping too?

Just being active on here is massive. Read comment engage. It's the secret to starting off. Once people notice you it is much easier to get engagement and votes on your own work. It takes a while but worth it in the long run.

Posted using Partiko Android

getting into discord makes all the difference Kimmy, that is the place to do good networking.

meno with that blocktrades vote, holy shit.

I just might have to buy blocktrades a beer if I meet him! hahaha

A Block vote like that is pretty epic... Especially late 2018 with scarce Steem haha

minecraft-154749_1280.png

Is blocktrades curating again? I remember him and his wife being active like that, ages ago.

Great Narritive! We are in the infancy phase now and every individual needs to ask themself, is the risk worth the gamble. No, I'am not only talking about greenbacks, more importantly I am talking about time. One of the few things that money can not buy is time and that is what most of us have invested. Believe in the process.

well said my friend, there is no such thing as no risk accompanied by gain, right?

I was just discussing with a friend the other day how Steem seems to have settled from the buzz in January that brought many, many new users who have now abandoned the platform. The monetary value has decreased accordingly, but the intrinsic value to the users has increased - those who stuck around or still read/contribute are less so quick payday seekers.

you can say that again... the openmic contest those weeks was insanity, i remember having 800+ entries to listen to... most of them are gone these days.

Agree very much with your assertion

Yes, competition is only stimulating the market and shows that the concept of Steemit is very successful.

well said...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97