You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What is your vision of Steem, can you sell it?

in #steem6 years ago

I'm fairly certain my answer to this will sound a bit fanboyish, but it's my honest opinion.

Right now I see all of the STEEM ecosystem like a fixer upper house on your first day of moving in. There are holes in the walls, peeling paint, something just skittered across the floor and under the cabinet, your internet isn't installed yet, you're on LTE from your phone, and your mattress is on the floor.

But none of this bothers you because you aren't seeing the house for what it is right now you're seeing the potential of what it will be. So to my point, I think Steem can support all the things you mentioned above and more, but I'll focus on my area which is art.

Looking at all the different platforms being built on the Steem blockchain it really feels like the possibilities are endless. For example, it actually kinda sucks right now to post art on Steemit. The interface just isn't really built for it. For presentation sake you usually want people to see your work at full resolution. Better yet, you'd want it to be nice and big as soon as they open your post, or at the very least to see it as large as their monitor will allow on click. But none of that is how the system works right now, you can re-write the code so that it will take you to a new page with your image at full res on click, but that's not ideal. I'm saying all this to emphasize that someone could simply(I'm sure it's not simple, but I really mean nothing holding anyone back) create an art sharing platform on the Steem blockchain that is specialized for JUST that.

Right now Steemit is wearing a lot of different hats but I don't see that as the future. I think the future will be a ton of niche platforms on the system. I may be wrong, but I think that's why the devs are not as concerned with trying to fix every issue with Steemit, because the future of Steem is not any one platform, it's the whole ecosystem. You will be able to find that right platform that allows you to monetize whatever random shit you're into, plus with the addition of SMT's that will further empower people to have a ton of control over the platforms they build as well as giving them tools for raising money for it in the first place.(I don't work for Steemit Inc. I promise)

Anyway, I could be wrong. On the dark side it could be a super elaborate pyramid scheme, that builds all this up then the biggest holders all power down at the same time and leave us all holding the bag...but I doubt it.

Sort:  

On the dark side it could be a super elaborate pyramid scheme, that builds all this up then the biggest holders all power down at the same time and leave us all holding the bag...but I doubt it.

Lmfao! 😂😂😂 I once thought about this...so craaaazy!

I love your POV by the way, mist especially the art part. 💪🏾

giphy.gif

Soooo... @whatsup who won???

Right now I see all of the STEEM ecosystem like a fixer upper house on your first day of moving in.

Great analogy @midlet! I love your take on things.

It certainly does sound like a pyramid scheme, the way it was marketed to me.
But unlike any pyramid scheme I have seen, I have made money fairly quickly for doing what I would
consider to be very little.

Who knows where this is all going?

Weeeeell in defense of pyramid schemes everywhere, typically as far as I know the way it would work is everyone is rewarded on a curve weighted to the top, so the more you invest the more you get. The scheme is that people are getting rewarded with all the new/bottom investments, and when that either dries up or can't keep up with the rate of distribution the whole thing falls apart and everyone except the top people get screwed.

So in the end we like to throw around the term "trustless" in the crypto space, but at least in Steem, there is a lot of trust in the top holders. Until there is more, for lack of a better term "wealth diffusion" we're skating on a bit of thin ice.

Haha! I love it and it is close to my own view!

i think he wins.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 67756.95
ETH 3539.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.14