What is Steem Witness?

in #steem7 years ago

Witness Me.jpg

I've been lurking around steemit for about a week and have seen "steem witness" come up a few times, I have no idea what it means and what it does? I'm hoping it doesn't have anything to do with spraying your mouth/face with silver spray paint and then going kamikaze on some newbies ;)

Any insight would be greatly appreciated.

Sort:  

A Steem Witness is a node that basically validates transactions on the STEEM blockchain. The Steem blockchain is DPOS which stands for "Delegated Proof Of Stake" There is more to it.. I just gave you a basic outline

Good to know, I guess I'm going to have to put away the silver spray paint.

A Steem Witness is effectively a trusted entity that votes on behalf of users and mines Steem in the mixed PoS algorithm. Typically they have powerful redundant servers and high reputation scores, and trade their resources for extra revenue.

It's exactly​ that.

when you find out exactly what a "Steem Witness" is, please do share!

@rossenpavlov says, it is what I think it is...

WITNESS MEEEE! Love that line from the movie

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61095.28
ETH 2922.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65