My Future Steemit Plans

in #steem6 years ago

The few of you who read my blog regularly have probably noticed my infrequent posting the last couple months. I'm here to talk a little bit about what's been going on with that, and what my plans for the future on Steemit are.

image.png
[Image source]

For much of this year, I actually ended up using Steemit as my primary source of income. It was, well, really nice. Got to set my own hours and write stuff I'm interested in. (Which is a huge change from your normal writing gig.) Lately, though, with the price of Steem declining, I simply haven't been able to afford to dedicate my time to Steemit in that way- gotta find some way to pay the bills. (It didn't help that my internet access went from top notch to slow as hell lately.) I picked up a few extra writing gigs here and there to help pay my way, though that wasn't enough on its own. I ended up actually having to start powering down my Steem Power, which is pretty unfortunate. On top of all that, I ended up moving as well, after horrid amounts of mold were discovered lurking in the vents and walls of my old place. So that was a lot of stress and a lot of money.

I've actually ended up picking up a real person, leave the house job. Which, ugh, leaving the house is the worst. It should be able to help me get back on my feet relatively fast, at least. The secret project that I've alluded to a few times before on Steemit is also chugging along- with any luck, I'll start making some money off that as well soon. (Still can't give any details, except that it's another writing project!)

I'm currently planning to start posting on Steemit much more regularly again. I won't have the time to do many science posts, given how time intensive they are. (Except for my weekly Nature Identification posts- those will be back pretty soon.) There'll be a few science posts still, but not a lot. You can, however, expect a lot more book related posts from me. And, with any luck, maybe an announcement about the secret project.

Sort:  

Life is what it is. As infrequent as they will be, I will always gladly read your science posts. It takes time, for sure, if one aims towards quality. I personally definitely prefer one great post in a while on a crazy shitload of low-quality posts.

Good luck with all your projects!

No worries about the slow posting. It's hard to justify all the hours that go into science articles when the payout is so low. I know my posting frequency has gone down too. Hopefully your job keeps the finances stable.

Thanks!

I wish you luck in all your endeavors! And I agree, leaving the house, ugh. Come back, $10 SBD! :)

You are working on that book about octopus overlords! I can't wait. I was convinced by my spouse to write a book, rather than blog, so I, too, have been inactive, other than occasional comments.

That one's in the pipeline, but there are a few projects in the way first!

Oh, and have you ever encountered Kill Six Billion Demons before? It seems entirely up your alley. (Make sure to read the texts below the comics, too!)

It's nice to see you back on the platform. The geology tag has been slow without you :P Looking forward to seeing new amazing stuff from you and to soon learn about your secret project :)

Long live the #geology tag! Resurgence coming!

Take care of yourself first. We will be here to read and comment when you are ready!

But I really liked your science posts 😞

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Long live @mountainwashere!

Great mentor, great writer, great reviewer, great leader.

Long live the mountain. Long live @mountainwashere!

You have my support whatever you do and when things get crazy later in the year hopefully conditions permit you working here again fulltime.

Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70351.33
ETH 3563.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72