How I went about getting my steem dollars to my native country currency TTD

in #steem6 years ago

If you have wondered how to get Steemdollars aka SBD to your countries currency if it's not standard. I found something that works for me. Initially I thought that Steemdollars was pegged to the USD meaning that 10 steemdollars was equal $10USD however I was hit with the realization that it's not so when I went to convert it to bitcoin.

The currency was worth alot more that i believed, approximately 6X more. The value of steem on the market at the time was 6.xxxxx steem to usd hence the big payout from steem dollars atleast that's what I think or so it appears.

Finally the process

For those that are new you'd click SELL in the dropdown section in your wallet under steemdollars then you'd be redirected to

Here you'd specify the amount of sbd to transfer to bitcoin and the receiving bitcoin address then wala your steem dollars is transferred to your btc wallet or whatever you decided to do with your precious steemdollars.
here is where i learned that the value of steem on the market determines the amount of btc you'd get to equal the usd value of the steem. I know it sounds complicated but it's not , not really it will grow on you in time.

Moving on my process was to send the money to my brokers trading account because my country isn't up to date so to speak. Coin-base does not support my country and I'm guessing that may be the case for alot of other ico's. If you're in that bracket open a trading account with a regulated broker that accepts bitcoin deposits like fxchoice or hotforex and you can find your way from there to wire transfer it back to your bank or prepaid card.

I hope this post was informative for those that didn't know about it and i hope that my assumption about some of the stuff is correct like the value of steem determining the amount of BTC you'd get on conversion. Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 66924.37
ETH 3085.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71