You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I've been thinking about the Oracles - Collective Wisdom / Collective Consensus

in #steem6 years ago

Of course you are right that whatever system is designed will at least be attempted to be corrupted.

Any time there is an economic reward, some portion of people will try to game that reward.

I've been sounding a similar alarm over the past couple weeks. I have not seen anything in the Oracle/SMT talk so far that has convinced me that however Oracles verify users will be any more effective than keeping bots of facebook and twitter.

Sort:  

Hi Neal!

It depends a lot on the SMT design and the Oracle. Lots of the smaller, more topic-focused SMTs I expect to see should work fine with community Oracles. That's a really good place for them, so that, say @pechichemena wanted to make an SMT for cover-a-steemian, we could have a few Oracles who were active in the community verify that the people getting the tokens were playing the game by the rules.

Using them site-wide to address the grandiose issues Ned likes to pontificate about is a much tougher problem, but I'm not convinced that's ever going to happen anyway. Good Person Token seems to be a marketing concept Steemit is using because talking about humans vs. bots is a good way to lots of views and discussions here right now, not an actual project.

If the token is very narrow in use and it’s economic value is low, then that makes sense. There isn’t enough profit for the spammers and scammers to bother.

But then why bother having a token that isn’t worth much?

Who knows, maybe they have a brilliant solution to making the whole thing work. I’m just skeptical is all :)

I doubt the dev team has not thought about the particular DOOM scenario I've thought of. These are bright people, a lot smarter than me. But, because assuming is probably not the best way of approaching this. I'm interested in this conversation and the collection of some wisdom through it.

I hope you are right.

If SMTs gain value and there is a superlinear rewards curve to votes, then the incentive to create accounts is exponential. So it all comes back to getting those accounts verified by whatever means is still profitable.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60787.40
ETH 2994.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82