You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The HoboDAO's Adjustment To #NewSteem

in #steem4 years ago

Thank you for your support on my posts folks, it has been appreciated.

I must say that after the first couple of weeks of HF21, I was using the reward distribution tool (aka upvotes and downvotes) because you need to treat both equally and there were a LOT of over rewarded posts. I think anyone would agree with that.

But the retaliation is not what they are for and unfortunately, when dealing with emotional beings such as humans, it was inevitable that this would happen. So I always wanted to give feedback on what I downvoted to help that person write better content in future. Of course I got some push back, wrote a post explaining all there is to know about the rewards pool and the role of upvotes and downvotes which DO have an important role to play and how they are fundamentally different to the emotion reaction buttons on fb, twitter etc.

Anyway, I moved on, put it behind me and focused on what I like doing which is creating content and trying to make someone smile in the process.

Now, with SBI, I can see both sides of the story here. I did have 630 shares but did start getting downvotes as I suspected I would.

The good side of sbi - supporting new joiners, great for contests and initiatives and getting people to stick around.

The bad side of sbi - it is still a form of vote buying, just spread out over a long period of time as when you buy an sbi share for someone, you are also buying a vote for them AND you. And these auto votes continue for the lifetime of your posting content. This is what we wanted to get away from when HF 21 came about.

So I can see why the downvotes are coming despite them being ironically from a former/current bid bot owner.

That's my thoughts on it. I should probably write a post about SBI trying to be balanced.

Anyway, thanks again for your support and good luck with the future projects!

Sort:  

People can believe what they want about downvotes, a bunch of people on Steem really believe in them, but I never have and I believe it is what will keep Steem low ranked as a social network and blockchain. You can't train the global community of the internet to "get use to them" because that is an undertaking of monumental proportions.

Additionally, its forcing one's ideals onto others, downvotes discourage expression of unpopular opinions and give power and influence to the wealthy few over the many. I prefer social atmospheres where every voice is equalized and good ideas rise to the top due to community recognition rather than the appeasement of a wealthy individual.

Well, let's just say, we see things differently about downvotes :)

Thanks for commenting!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68145.39
ETH 3732.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65