You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Homo Deus: A Brief History of Tomorrow | "The Last Days of Death"

in #steem6 years ago

I read this book some months back it opened my mind to different possibilities I hav enever considered before now. it's one book I will re-read sometime in the future.
As regards man's pursuit for immorality, i believe it's inevitable in the sense that humanity has always sought ways to prolong it's existance. We've tried to achieve this covertly through various means like proper health care and upgrading our standard of living, etc these are just stepping stones to our primary pursuit-- immorality.
Is the pursuit of immorality furtile? I dont think so. This is the last battle humanity will have to fight--the battle against death. As we develop and solve most of our problems we move towards this battle against humanity's number one leveler, death. In other words, whether we're conscious about this or not we are moving towards this phase.
Will we win? Well, we can, but what's the essence of life without death? In my opinion, it's a more terrible fate to live a life without ending.

Sort:  

I believe its better to live with the choice of death, than without the choice

That's a very interesting take on this pursuit. I agree, the question of what the essence of life would be without death is a good one. We would have to redefine what it even means to be alive.

I'm more of the opinion that our bodies are just a physical manifestation of our being. I wonder about the destiny of us? What are we meant to do and meant to become? I think that the fight against death plays a significant role in answering that question.

I wonder about the destiny of us? What are we meant to do and meant to become?

I think are all trying to answer this question in life, defining and redefining it as we progress. this is what drives innovation. our fight against death is one of such ways we as humans hope to answer the question of our destiny, which will lead to another series of questions, like what we are supposed to do after we arrive at the answer? what's the purpose of a life without death?

Death is cool I think. Do most people worth to have endless life of eating, shitting and complaining? Death give us a way in life to othere. Big shitty businesman dies, and now smaller better businesmen have a chance to get over his business. Imagine people like Hitler got immortality

Homo Deus - Jesus Christ?

That's an interesting take as well. I agree with you on that an endless life of eating, shitting and complaining would be a worthless pursuit but I think that we would redefine what it means to be alive should we achieve this idea of immortality. I think we would find meaning in other ways and we may not even have bodies in the same way that we do now. We are already becoming cyborgs (just look at mobile phone technology, eye technology, transplant technology, etc. etc.).

Life in 100 years will likely have little resemblance to life today. I can only imagine what it would look like 200, 500 or even 1,000 years from now!

As for your idea about people like Hitler getting immortality: I don't expect us to become truly immortal (as in nothing in existence could end us) I think that it's more likely that we will become amortal which is the idea that you could live forever if you don't die from whatever it is that you're vulnerable to.

So if someone like Hitler came along, we could get rid of them if they were causing some major issue (just in the way that we get rid of people now - imprisonment, death, war, etc.).

And to counter you on that, imagine if people like Isaac Newton and Albert Einstein and Da Vinci were immortal? Would their contributions to humanity outweigh the few negative actors that will also appear, like Hitler?

I believe in Jesus Christ and he offers the prospect of eternal life, so yeah Christ is an example of a homo deus.
For those who don't believe in Him, their way of achieving immortality is through science. I would not go into the ethical aspect of this discuss. However, I will like to state that a lot of bad things still happen in this life, so whatever it is good or not, people are still going to strive for immorality. A lot of big companies are already investing heavily in it

Immortality has a lot of problems - neurons degeneration, heart strength ... It's close to impossible to solve all those problems in 40 years. Thanks for your feed back

I read your reply on this subject and I concluded we have things in common. Could you follow as I have done and upvoted??

no problem if you have interesting content(s)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63721.15
ETH 3305.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91