Moments of truth with @ogoowinner. A look at Steem without the monetary rewards. We can save Steem.

in #steem6 years ago (edited)


If rewards were removed from Steem, would you still blog/vlog on Steem? 

Now, I really do not want to know your answer. I only want you to think deeply and sincerely answer it in your heart. 

What were you told before you joined Steem? 

Before I joined Steem, I made a Facebook post asking my friends to introduce me to any online job that would earn me money. Then a pseudo account on my friends list gave me the link to join Steem. 

Can you really be sincere? What motivated you to join Steem? 

I joined because I wanted to make money online. 

However, I believe so many others joined because they wanted a free access to owning cryptocurrencies. 

Do you really think anyone will still visit your blog/vlog if they don't have any other thing to benefit from you or your Steem allies apart from the messages you pass across? 

I have been writing on facebook for free and I usually have people liking and commenting on posts. I also have a secret group where I teach people different things and they respect me a lot there, not because of what they think they could gain from me outside what I teach, because I really had nothing to offer them aside that. 

Although I must confess that I really don't like writing, I enjoy what I do here because it has always been my desire to console the broken hearted, comfort the troubled and motivate the depressed and helpless through any means possible. And Steem has given me the opportunity to do that and yet be rewarded. I strongly believe I'm changing lives through my activities here. 

So, the answer is "Yes". I believe people will still visit my blog even if they have nothing else but my teachings to benefit from. As a matter of fact, I believe that if there are no more hunts for rewards, I'll have more people visiting my blog. 

Now, can you(yes, you reading this post) also sincerely answer this question? 

If there was one thing you could do or suggest to make Steem more interesting and attractive to users what would that be? 

I'll build Steem in such a way that people will be motivated to join it because they love it, rewards will just be an additional bonus. 

How would you do that? 

I really don't know right now, but I have been thinking deeply; people are not paid anything for being on facebook, yet they have millions of users from all across the globe. Same thing goes for twitter and instagram. I believe there is (are) something they are doing that greatly satisfies a particular human need and I'll like us to apply that here. 

On facebook, I write my posts freely without the fear of some whales downvoting it because they don't agree with my opinion. Somehow, I feel like the queen of my kingdom there. 

Also, when people comment on other people's posts, I know it's not because of what they stand to gain. So, I enjoy going through the comment section on facebook because when people express an opinions from their hearts, not for some benefits or rewards, it makes it very interesting to me. But I don't try it on Steem, especially on a whales blog, a whale's friend blog or someone with high SP, because I know very few truth can be found on such. 

Furthermore, there are a lot of things I see being celebrated here and I know people will not look at them a second time if they were posted on other social networks. 

I just want Steem to grow above the monetary rewards. But I really don't know how

No matter how hard you try to deny this fact, I know most of us here want the money, but how about making it more interesting and still getting the rewards? 

Sometimes, when I want to laugh, I go to facebook. There are so many pages there to change one's mood immediately. And it is more interesting because the best comedian gets the highest followers, likes and comments. I want Steem to be like that. 

Almost everything can be found on facebook. I want Steem to be better off. 

I want it to be that when someone is looking for a place to get motivated, the person will search on Steem. When people need accurate crypto News, they will come to Steem. When they want to read about their best football team, they will visit Steem. Etc. 

But how can that be achieved, when things on the trendy page could discourage anyone who isn't just looking for online money. Don't get me wrong, some things on the trendy page deserve to be there, yet, if you are sincere enough, you will agree with me that some are so discouraging. 

The truth remains that Steem cannot reward all its users equally. And friends cannot be stopped from upvoting friends. But can it be done in such a way that real interesting articles would occupy our trendy pages even if they have little payouts? Can those commenting on such articles be rewarded specially? 

One thing I despise the most is biting the hand that feeds you or once fed you. Steem has added a lot of value to my life. I have found a lover, good friends and gotten financial rewards from this platform and I feel I owe Steem the responsibility to work for its good. 

I'm not writing this to compare Steem to facebook in a demeaning manner. No, I only feel pained that things are going wrong, Steem is fast becoming less interesting and it seems like us who are on board this ship do not even care about saving it. 

I really don't know how things could get better. But everyone who truly cares about Steem knows a lot of wrong stuffs are happening here and would want things to be addressed properly before it becomes too late. 

If you have in anyway benefited from this platform, it will be unfair not to work for its good. 

Let's save Steem. 

If you were given the opportunity, what would you do to make Steem Better? 

Thank You For Reading!

I Read and Appreciate All Comments!

If you find this post valuable,

Please Upvote, Resteem And Comment.


By the way, I no longer see number of views on steemit blog. 

Sort:  

I only feel pained that things are going wrong, Steem is fast becoming less interesting and it seems like us who are on board this ship do not even care about saving it.
It is so encouraging to find out someone on this platform have noticed what has made many give up their steemit accounts which is mostly caused by the struggle to be who people expect you to be here (composed, rigid, fake.....)

I have been away for just two months during which I always try to find out how fast the platform is growing buy replies like "Steemit no dey pay again", "I no fit write again", "I don abandon the thing jor" from a majority made me feel less bothered about coming back but then there would always be one or two people who believe so much in the platform, people who derives so much fun posting about what the really love doing not minding the payout, chats with such people is what had motivated me to get a new phone as soon as I could and I am glad there are likes of you who still believe in steem......

I strongly believe steem can be more fun that it used to be....
I strongly believe can be where everyone wants to run to for any mood they want to adjust to.

I will contributing my quota by sharing with Steemians what I do (Tailoring/ Fashion designing) and I hope I can get across to those who are passionate about it...

Thank you for the motivation @ogoowinner

I'm glad you came back. We can make steem great again. I truly hope for better days.

I do hope for better days too

Will I still write for steem if free? Heck yeah! I have always shared my stories via email as far back as I can remember. Nobody paid me a dime here. Truth is the monetary reward here makes it easier for me to put more effort in my blog. If free, my efforts may not be as much, but will I still blog, hell yeah, I would.
Do I visit the trending page? No, I never do. Why? No reason, I have my own method of seeing posts that is worth reading without resorting to the trending pages.

@greenrun baba, I salute your reply

Thanks mate :)

I joined because i wanted to earn some money, and it was the first crypocurrency i had. I stayed because of the friends and amazing content there is here. With or without rewards i would still come here everyday :)

Hmmmmmm.
First, I will take off flagging so people can easily pour our their mind on matter and tell those that post shit the bloody truth.

Secondly, there should a limit to what one can earn daily so as to distribute wealth evenly.

Thirdly, post funny things about people on steemit and round the world. I can even mention Bernie without being scared being flogged with Sanders. It will be called Steemit Jam Show

Lastly, introduce people to steemit for the fun and earning is an added incentive. Let people earn according to how they make the platform lively, it will surprise you that everyone will turn comedians over night.

All I can think of for now...

A real awesome comment. But I think he flags with reasons though.

Your awesome post birthed the comment. The man(dunno if he is boy or man) is so dramatic, I have seen him flag someone that mention him in a post. His response was "I don't know you, stop mentioning me" and left the poster with a flag. But for others, he do have more than a good reason

By the way, I no longer see number of views on steemit blog.

Yeah, I noticed that too, but then that's also an aspect that needs change, when it was visible if a person refreshes his/her page it records it as multiple views. I feel it should be configured to be a view per IP address.

And about the question, in all honesty my blog isn't receiving so much, but yet I do my best to post at every chance I get, though the reward is a huge part of the reason why I'm on the platform, but it's certain that I would still make my post even without the monetary rewards. It's like they say, come for the money, stay for the community.
It's a pity that steem isn't as interesting as facebook, IG and twitter, but I believe we would get there, if people get to see beyond the rewards.

Yeah, I noticed that too, but then that's also an aspect that needs change, when it was visible if a person refreshes his/her page it records it as multiple views. I feel it should be configured to be a view per IP address.

Oh! Thanks for this.

Thanks for your comment here @daniel-otaniel. I think we have talked about this on whatsapp. I just want to see a more interesting and attractive steem beyond the rewards.

Yes we have.

Steem would become interesting if people post things just for the fun of it and not basically for the rewards.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

I think that steem is a great platform that certainly allows you to earn some money but it is more interesting because you can express your thoughts freely. There are people who publish simple things and still have their followers. To improve it I think you should reward more posts that have interesting content, current and general interest. Sometimes they go unnoticed because maybe the person does not have many followers and that is not fair.

Thank you for your contribution here @marynet.

@ogoowinner, I taught of the same thing. You know some blogs don't pass informations that will affect society, like yours,you tend to teach us daily about life as a whole, in respect to theirs, it might not be visited because the visitors are not learning. Thus, the way to make this platform grow without its rewards is through posts that affects the society, something worth learning. This will attract people in other social media to see here has a learning community irrespective of the earnings.

I hope we adopt that. Thanks for your contribution @maduprecious.

This is really thought provoking @ogoowinner.

Truth be told, if reward be removed from steem, I don't think a lot of people will still hangout here because am kinda optimistic of the fact that Facebook has some kinda rishi rishi it's adds to its platform that will always make users stay and that is likes.

Truth is that likes are free on facebook, but at least you will get a handful of it, no matter how amateur your posts looks nor when you started blogging, with lots of comments too.

Here, everything is strict. Only a few cartel will show you love, nor comment and that's why a lot of minnows give up which is something that never happens on facebook irrespective of the fact that it's free.

It is not about showing love, it is about making here more interesting without the rewards.

I believe most users on steemit have abandoned their Facebook account because of the rewards steemit offers, if only we all can see this platform just like Facebook and other social media and try passing information for fun too,
Somethings steemit seems to be boring because the most people and friends aren't really here just because they dont understand how the platform really works, and in some cases many are just ignorant.
Your very right about the challenges most minnows face due to flagin and stuffs but every platform have got rules too and it helps alot,
I just believe its just a matter of time lots and lost of different things will definitely arise on the steemit platform to make it attractive for those yet to join.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62502.56
ETH 3008.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50