New Loan on Kiva on behalf of Team Steemit

in #steem7 years ago

Hello my Steemian friends,

I wanted to update you on the state of Team Steemit on Kiva.org and tell you about the latest loan I gave on behalf of the team, using SBD earnings that my posts make here on Steemit.



I am happy to report to you that the team is going strong. We have 8 members now, half of whom joined in the past month alone!! I would like to welcome our four newest members and I want to feature one of them in this post. @cheerfulgiver wrote on their Kiva.org profile page:

I loan because individuals were kind enough to donate their upvotes, steem, and/or steem dollars to my steemit.com account.

Inspired by these words, I went ahead and made another loan today, on behalf of Team Steemit on Kiva:

I provided USD $25 out of the total USD $1,175 loan to Avni. Avni is fifty-years old hard-working man who comes from the Ashkali minority community in Kosovo. Kosovo has the lowest per capita income in Europe, averaging about USD $3,000 annually. And the economic situation is especially tough for ethnic minorities in rural areas, such as Serbs in the Northern part, Albanians and Roma populations. Avni has been selling recycled plastic bags, recycled paper bags, drink straws for the past eighteen years. Not only has he succeeded in setting up this environmentally-minded business, he also makes a decent income from running it, which makes it possible for him to provide for his family.

This time Avni needed to take a loan to purchase a supply of recycled plastic bags to sell to grocery stores. This loan will help him continue and grow his business.

You can join the Team Steemit and help someone stand on their own feet, by joining me on Kiva and giving a loan of as little as USD $25.

Don’t give a hand-out. Give a hand up!



Sort:  

Charity is great, there are many people who need our help.👍And if you have such opportunity, why not?
Sorry for the question, but I looked at your surname... Do you have Ukrainian roots?

It’s even better than charity – it’s help to self-help! :) And you don’t donate money – you lend it and then get it back. So both the giver and the donor meet on equal foot.

Yes, my paternal grandma was from Ukraine. So my dad is half-Ukrainian, half Russian, while my mom comes from an old Cossack clan. I was born and grew up in Southern Russia, in the land of Cossacks. I emigrated to Sweden 11 years and 2 days ago. :D

This is gold standard material.

You've done your homework.

Well presented.

You're rocking it!

This is remarkable work.

This is gold standard material.

You've exceeded my expectations.

This is so valuable.

You nailed it!

You're a wizard at this!

I learned a lot, thanks!

This is excellent work.

You've made my day.

Very Good work you done. I salute you. When I earn sufficient money in Steemit I donate my earnings.

keep the circle flowing / good stuff !

Love the circle!! <3

great job!!

What a great way to spend steem dollars!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by oleg326756 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60837.81
ETH 2874.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62