How Do We Handle The Spammers, Scammers, and Bots?

in #steem6 years ago

image
Steem has incredible potential. If you’re reading this, I imagine you have also come to this realization.

But the people getting on here with MLM related spam, and all the other scams, along with the ridiculous number of bots(some of which greatly help, others of which greatly hurt) has started to make posting and curating quality content kind of difficult.

Is there any kind of moderation on Steem? I see people that will downvote original content, post some spam, and somehow they’re making $100 off of -10 votes?

What the hell is going on here? Is there any protection against some hacker gaming the system to their advantage? Please. Educate me.

Sort:  

I don't know, but I've been wondering the same thing. I have alerts that pop up whenever someone posts about cannabis or marijuana, and half of the alerts I get are for posts someone made in which they simply copied and pasted and entire article, photos and all.

I hear you. I’ll admit that I’ll use stock photos to draw attention to my articles, and I will link to the source articles where I got the information I’m spouting off about, but I try to keep the spouting my own, and not post if I don’t have something real to say.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.029
BTC 69455.40
ETH 3692.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.34