You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: An impossible hypothetical: On quality and value

in #steem6 years ago

This hypothetical system would definitely improve the overall health of yhe community and I think that some of my posts would fare much better than they do but some of my posts would definitely see a decrease in rewards.

Even with a perfect system in pkace there woukd be contingents of people who woukd complain and be dissatisfied because that is our nature as a society. We are quick to lay the fault of failure at everyone else's feet instead of owning our own outcomes based on merit. True unfiltered self awareness is a rare commodity and I strive to be as open an homest with myself as humanly possible because I see it as a pure oath to growth and improvement.

I think it would be fascinating to see the results of such a system and to see the community's, as well as the individual's, reactions to the results. This was an extremely thought provoking post!

Sort:  

I would assume that many of the highly rewarded would become a lot less so but, many of the lowest rewarded would remain so. People here who complain about the rewards (myself included), can't be objective enough as they have already invested the time and effort into a post so they assume there is value held in it. I can go out for a jog and it takes energy and time but, no one wants to watch people like me run at the Olympics.

I think later on there will be hybrid versions of this implemented for discovery purposes just like every other site and as AI improves, value will get rewarded but, valueless will struggle massively.

I can go out for a jog and it takes energy and time but, no one wants to watch people like me run at the Olympics.

lol This, so this! I am definitely guilty of my efforts that I place on generating a post translating to an emotional attachment to the work rather that being able to look at it objectively and sometimes being honest with myself and saying "Hey dude, that's crap! You are better than this"

I am very interested to see how everything shakes out when and if a version of this is every implemented. It is a good mental tool to keep in the back of my mind as a guide to create better posts, a kind of "what would the AI program think of this post?"

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63849.10
ETH 3132.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89