Newsteem Rocks - Whos struggling since the HF because I'm Powering Up??

in #steem5 years ago

I'm going to say it out straight, I am a fan of #newsteem.  In the newsteem mood, I just powered up this account to 20K SP and my @excelclub account to  5.5K SP. Next target is 30K on this account and 10K on the other. Now show me your content and lets get the party started!!!!

There is a renewed interest in steem, in steem power, in content and in curation. Posts like this from @kevinwong and this from @schattenjaeger are proof that we can draw interest to #newsteem.  These posts are very exciting and inspirational to see and I am sure I have missed a few more!

One of the concerns aired  about the HF was for the smaller account.  Accounts I have worked closely with over the last few years.  And I have yet to see many of these give out.  Maybe I am going around with blinkers on, so now is your chance to grab my attention if you are one of these accounts that have suffered since the HF. (or if you know of one of these accounts, please speak up for them)

And I don't seem to be the only one, @whatsup said today 

I keep getting these angry comments about the little accounts, but I'm asking who and where they are.

The thing is, I would like to see these accounts too. So this is a shout out to drop your name below if you are a smaller account that is struggling. Drop a link to your latest post and I will take a read.  I don't promise a vote, but I will leave constructive feedback.  Feel free to nominate the account of someone you know that has been struggling since the HF.

My personal pain point from the HF was the impact on votes on comments. My business model for my brand relies on me having the ability to reward comments.  Thankfully I have enough SP to still reward comments but I know others are not in the same position.  My feelings on this now, well my vote worth on a comment is not as high as my vote worth on popular content, however I am happy to sacrifice this as I feel the other benefits of the HF have a greater chance of increasing the value of steem than the ability to distribute new tokens on comments.  

Sort:  

I really have felt the lack of enthusiasm on here since coming back to the platform. Used to be a lot more lively in the comments and the like. I still want to play here, write, and post pictures.

yes it is a little quiet, however it was that way before the hf anyway. if you have been away for a while, new relationships need to be formed and then you will get more engagement going on your posts. Glad to see you still wanna play here

I am one. I haven't posted in days though because I am very disheartened, and not just by the ultimate payout, since my payouts weren't high before the HF, either. So like for instance, this one: https://steemit.com/microscope/@phoenixwren/microscope-photography-kitchen-edition-2
which is almost done at 15 hours 'til payout has a little over $2 which isn't bad for me, but that's on 579 votes!!! That's why on my latest Tree Talk post (https://steemit.com/treetalk/@phoenixwren/tree-talk-oak) I actually gave it a Minnowbooster vote to get it up to $5 because it had 496 votes and was at about the same level, and I felt bad that all those people thought me worthy of an upvote and both their curation rewards and my author rewards were going to be dinged for not being high enough. I didn't upgoat this one, because I can't go around buying votes every time. Isn't one of the points of the HF to discourage bot votes? But for the smalls, 500 votes is not enough to break the "dinged" threshold. Now as I understand it those 579 people are going to be punished too and not receive as much curation reward. Why would they risk voting for me again? And I'm sure I only got those votes because I got a SteemStem vote and they're probably on a curation trail, normally my posts don't get 500 votes.
I'm not asking for an upvote here as besides the microscope photography which is almost done, my latest posts are just an Actifit post and a contest winner announcement, which I don't expect much voting or comments on as a rule. I'm just feeling kind of down. I've been in "just keep swimming" mode all through the crypto winter but I'm burned out this week. Like I get that I am not exciting or popular and generally nothing I've ever done is considered valuable, but all my Steem friends are pretty much gone. This is touted as "social media" but I've got no one to be social with. I usually rank pretty well in the Engagement league but again, I was lower this week because I am just burned out (but still on the board, so apparently my "burned out" is still more active than many). I've had many Steemians who I actively commented on their stuff for ages and they never do mine, so obviously they're not interested. Maybe I'm just extra depressed this week but I'm feeling down that I can spend hours of work to make an educational tree talk post and it's still not good enough for even the nice people who voted it to get their curation rewards unless I buy votes. And so many people who I thought I was genuinely friends with have just abandoned the platform pretty much. So I'm just shouting into the void to hear myself talk. Which is kinda what this comment is, so, I'll stop.

I missed the payout on the post, sorry, and it was worthy of an upvote, so I just left you one on the comment.

I understand the feeling of burnt out. I too have been here for the winter and my organic growth since the new year has been very poor. The things is, when there are so many 'small' accounts voting for you, it doesn't amount to much and that's what you are feeling now.

As for the abandonment, well that was happening anyway and I don't think the HF accelerated that much when it comes to real content creators and die-hard steem users. All communities have suffered and are lacking in numbers, so don't take it personally

but what's this about your rewards being dinged? payouts on the posts are still being payout, if your post says $4.5 at time of payout, then thats the rewards no? This part has confused me????

As I understand it - and I am not a techie so this is just other people explaining it - if your post earns under 20 Steem, you the author AND the curators both lose even more of the rewards and it goes back into the pool.
If that's wrong, then that would be great, but I've seen it explained like that in several places.
And thanks for the upvote! :)

I dont think that is correct at all. And I just checked too on my payouts. when a post hits $20 then it reaches the more linear rewards thereafter.

I gave a vote on a comment that just paid out. the comment was worth $.23. In curation rewards I got .35 steem, and the commentor got .26sp and .26steem...that all looks right to me. the thing is before the hf my full vote on a comment was worth nearly double that.....so the payouts stand. I hope that is good news for you.

OK so I think I have figured it out after talking with another friend.
Everyone talking about their votes being smaller than they should be - THAT is the "punishment," but it can also change.
When I vote on a post below the threshold, my vote is smaller than SteemWorld or some such says it should be. When I vote on a post that is already above the threshold, it is what SteemWorld says it should be. And apparently, if the first post gradually increases in rewards, the closer it gets to the threshold, the bigger my vote grows! And then once it hits the threshold, my vote maxes out.
Again, I'm not a techie, but after checking the value of my votes this seems to be the case.

That sound right. At the end of the day, ur vote matters, be it getting them up to or as close to the line as possible or boosting them more when they are over the line. I do hope that feels like a better situation???

Posted using Partiko Android

Hmm! That's interesting. I hope you are right, because that was a big part of what was bumming me out. I will investigate further. I just looked at the microscope post of mine, and it said it was at $1.99 and the split was right, but it was $2something yesterday and I don't know if that was from another price dip or from the punishment ding. I'll keep looking.

The biggest hit that I've noticed is on things like @dustsweeper and @dustbunny where the required vote size to rescue the dusty comments is significantly increased. This tends to mean comments are less likely to be rewarded, and by extension people are leaving less comments which impacts engagement levels - of course this is a generalisation based on what I've observed on the small data sample of my own posts, but needless to say it is having some impact. On the other side of the coin, however, I do seem to be benefiting from greater curation on the posts that I upvote.

This summarizes my thoughts as well... I am finding it harder to engage although confident that other areas have improved.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I do put some of my lacking engagement down to offline life getting in the way a bit. Work has been super busy (with no sign of slowing down) and our 3 year old daughter will always be first priority, but even factoring that in, engagement does look different as we all try to find the "new normal"

Posted using Partiko Android

I think I need to pull together some sort of data post on comments and payouts. I know when I looked some time ago, comments didn't really do that well anyway.
I mentioned it in a comment below, people on steem often leave comments because they hope you will visit their account. This is influencer networking and works well. However other platforms also struggle for engagement. the people that engage, tend to be the people want to be influencers themselves in some form - we just need to try and change the mindset from earning rewards on comments to it being a strategic option for growth.

I think you're on to something. The sales pitch is no longer, "get paid for everything", but instead moving more to "find your community group and grow with each other"

Posted using Partiko Android

I don't mean to make this a negative post, but the whole reason the rewards were switched originally was because of the "circle" of users where value was being distributed. I'd be willing to bet if anyone still has access to SteemSQL that you'd find an eerily similar pattern to what happened before (I can't afford to pay for the service based on my passive Steem income). You'll see some large accounts all benefiting each other with the 50% rewards for "curating".

Granted, Steem is much smaller than it once was, 2 years ago, and much of that attrition is a welcome event.. however, we lost a wide range of great content providers who posted about more than "Steem is amazing"... It's actually quite interesting how Steem content providers have reverted to such tactics (which were successful in "#oldsteem"), yet they're calling it #newsteem... #irony

I wonder where the $teem is going now. Is it to new users? distinct and unique "quality" content? Or is it going to Steem promotion and whales who say the same thing over and over with little-to-no actual value? Are the devs getting the "whale share"? Or are the grinders who put the most effort into making Steem(it) a platform with useful and interesting content (other than describing how Steem works)?

Full Disclosure, I'm not calling you out for this specifically. I know that you value minnows and plankton (truly and sincerely). That's why I'm posting here.. because I feel like this is a "safe" environment for me to post and not immediately receive a negative comment or unwarranted flag.

I think an analysis would be good. I too let my sql sub die off and dont have much time with work and kids to be spending hours pouring over steem data. I do get what you are saying about devs getting the whale share and talking about steem all the time. I have raised the issue myself. infact my first post after the HF was expressing my dissatisfaction on the trending page and it all being about steem and devs. it has always been the case that talking about steem earns you more steem, thats not new to the HF.

But what I have noticed is that content creators, like bloggers and poets, are getting more on their posts, while all those shitty little posts done for vote farming are less well off. The high SP holders could always work things in their favor, thats not changed, but it will actually become more obvious now which in time I hope will become a deterrent.

So "getting more" is relative. Getting 25+% more is required in order to "break even" with earnings prior to the HF. So a 10% gain is actually a 15% loss compared to pre-HF. You need to compare apples to apples....

You powering up is a good sign :)

I wish I could power up faster

Yikes... FOMO setting in now hahaha
But, I do understand why....:D

I just powered up 500sp I had sitting around and it feels good. People who posted decent content before hf21 are better off. In a couple weeks I'll have done the math but I think my rewards per post / day will be similar or much higher with significantly less annoyance from exploiters.
It is kind that youbare willing to help out the little folk who believe they produce great content but are under rewarded.

hotdog and high five. well done on the power up. Steem is a community, the more we help each other, the better steem is for everyone

I had a look at your account. I dont think you are really doing any worse off than before. but you do produce wonderful pictures and I have seen far worse pictures do better. So......im not a whale and I can't push you over the line, but i can support you a little more and I will. Keep posting those pictures.

True that, although I think it's only a wave, soon enough I'll be back to my normal 0.90 dollars rewards hahha.

Thanks so much for the support and encouragement.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @paulag, you were randomly upvoted by @hobo.media (The HoboDAO) for having great content.

Check out @hobo.fund blog to learn more about the HoboDAO and how you can benefit!

yepppeee thank you

20K! You give me hope! I'm liking NewSteem.

wish I had more to power up, im liking new steem too

Congrats to your SP @paulag but this #newsteem hurted commenters because its is a loss-loss situation if you upvote comments now because the dust votes will not reward both parties while draining the voting power. So I do not know how this will work out.

Comments seem to have suffered. It has come up a lot here in the comments of this post, and sure I raised it myself in the post, so I am not denying this is a pain point. Im going to look at some data and I will do a post on my outlook regarding comments in a few days.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95