One up, One Down Steemit Networking Challenge #2

in #steem6 years ago

Fancy a way to meet new people right here on Steemit and not on discord? I have a new challenge to help you grow your network, your reach and your support here on Steemit.  The name of the game is One up, One Down.

To find out more about this challenge do check out this post here:

https://steemit.com/steem/@paulag/one-up-one-down-steemit-networking-challenge-1

Congratulations to everyone that took part last week. 287 comments and 21 resteems.  You are the coolest bunch of steemians every.  I tried to ensure that every person that took part received at least 2 votes and a vote from me.  In the end I had to resort to using my alt account @theexcelclub to help me with the voting.

I also said I would visit the blog of everyone that took part – well that did not happen.  With so many people taking part, it was impossible for me to find the time to do this.  But I will keep trying and visit as many as I possibly can.

Things also got a little confusing as the one up and the one below tends to change depending on the votes, so if you are any way unsure, pick someone that no reply or vote has yet been given too.

Can we brake last weeks comments of 287 and 21 resteems?  Come on dudes, lets show everyone Steemit produces the best discussions on the internet.

This weeks question

What is your favorite film or book and why?

Rules

  • You must visit the comment by the person above you, and below you. (if you are any way unsure, pick someone that no reply or vote has yet been given too)
  • You must vote on their comment and leave them a reply
  • You must visit their profile and see if they have a piece of content you can vote on, do you not have to vote on content you are not interested in, but please do visit their profile as you just never know.
  • You must resteem this post to reach more people and help this idea flourish

  Are you ready? One up, One Down, lets network and grow together  

 

Shameless Promotion

@steemcommunity is a witness project from myself and @abh12345. There are many good witnesses out there and doing your research is important. I hope you will take the time to read our witness introduction post and consider us as one of your steemit witnesses. If you are not sure how or why to vote for a Steemit witness drop a question below and I will do my best to help you. 


Sort:  

I like the logo it looks great

My favourite book is also a film and an old one too. Its Stephan king Pet Cemetery. I read it when I was about 13 and it frightened the life out of me. I partially remember the part when the child hid under the bed and then cut the ankle of his father with a blade.

The film was just as awesome, and although I could read the book, I think it was a few years after before I got to see the film because I was so young. Pet Cemetery was the book that got me hooked on reading as a teenager.

Great initiative - sorry missed this first time around.

My fav book (or the one that had the biggest impact on me) was 'A Million Miles in A Thousand Years' by Donald Miller. Basically a true story about a guy who wrote a book early doors that became a surprise success. A film crew later arrived to make a movie about his life and they found that his life was....errr.....a bit boring! So it made him (and the reader) think about your life as a movie with drama and action and thrills and spills. Quite profound really.

I'd never heard of this book before. Your description kind of reminds me a little bit of Walter Mitty. I read part of the sample just now and I can see why you liked it. It pretty much puts life in perspective from the outset. The whole idea of what we put emphasis on in our lives (saving to buy the Volvo) doesn't necessarily mean we're living life, or living up to any potential or self-expectation.

Good and weighty reading.

i have not read that book. If a film company came to film my life they would find it way more than boring lol .

Thanks for joining in, i hooe you get to meet someone new and have a little fun

Stephen King is a great writer. However he needs to get a ghost writer for his endings. They are so bad I stopped reading his books and watching his movies.

You don't like the spiders either??

I don't like spiders and snakes. They just don't have what it takes

Really, I never thought they were that bad. Im thinking now i need to read one of his books again because its been that long

Yea it has been a while but a couple of them I remember complaining and later when discussing it with others they were disappointed also. Maybe not as much as me but when I invest that much time I could have read something else.

This upvote was an extra and not part of the game, but I can't help upvoting people who love Stephen King, since I'm a huge fan ;0)

By the way: awesome initiative, @paulag!

Stephen King rocks, although i must say, i havent read any of his books in years now

His last works were a bit disapointing when I realized Tthey were not real horror stories anymore.
He was the king of hottor' but decided to choose a different path - such a shame....

I'm shocked. I read the book in high school I think and the movie came out after that. Loved the book, not so much on the movie.

I just made an impression about the film. if a book for me no one is interested. can this come in to complete your question @paulag?

Posted using Partiko Android

My favourite film is "Lord of the Rings". It was written by J.R.R. Tolkien. It has very good plot and wide plot. This movie took place in middle. This will be too long to tell about the story. I like this film for his creation. There are a lots of characters in this film. I watched this at leasat 4 times. MIsty mountains is also very good song for me.

I agree the film is a masterpiece. Unfortunately, I had read the book before I watched the film, and although the film is good, the book is way better. But isn't that always?

Yep always the book is better. The only exception I have come accross is Schindler's List, where I much preferred the film.

Yoiu have a point there. I agree for the full 100%

Hey @mmunited.

I've watched all of the Lord of the Rings movies and all of The Hobbit movies, and enjoyed them all. I never go around to reading the books, though. Maybe some day. They are definitely among the classics of epic fantasy.

I have not read the book. I will try to read it someday. Thanks for your reply @simplymike, @hopehuggs and @glenalbrethsen.

I think I was too young when I read the series, it was REALLY hard to get through. Tolkien seems very dry in between major points. Love both the books and the movies.

Hello, it has been nice to start to follow this community.
My Favorite book of the last few years was A Game Of Thrones the first GoT book. I would like to say I read all the books before there was show. Also a bit bummed that the show lead to the last books having a major delay. One good thing is the books are very different than the show so even after that ends if I ever get those last books I will still read them.

I love the series and I've always said that I wanted to read the books. With the long delay before the next season comes out I might actually do just that.

Ya the books will trip you out. People you just might hate on the show you will start to like. The line of who is good and bad is blurry in the books. But we really need the books finished and I worry he won't get around to it soon winds of winter has been delayed so long.

Interesting, I got quite confused while watching the series so it'll be interesting to keep that in mind. I had no idea that the book series wasn't even finished yet, makes me wonder if it's a marketing strategy.

I got the first 2 books as a christmas present and I still didn't had the time to read them because I had other books waiting, but I am really looking forward to. Nice to hear that it's still worth it even if I have already seen all episodes on TV.

Hey, @stever82. I've never read the series or watched the show. I get the feeling I'm in the vast minority that hasn't. It's kind of hard not to know about some things that happen in it, though, because of all of the talk surrounding them, especially after main characters are killed off. As a writer, it would drive me crazy. :)

So there isn't a clear main character in the books. Each chapter is the name of a character and you follow there points of views of the same events often. It can be madding at times to reach the end of a arch for one and start over in the past with someone else but then you see the same things happen from that point of view. The name people in the book that get lots of chapters are at least 10 to 15 each book. So when main people die it is hard. Book 3 I tossed into my closet and walked way for weeks after one of the deaths. I was pretty mad. But I came back to it. Haha only time I have ever got that mad a book.

I can imagine! I haven't been fond of multi-perspective books myself. The one or two I've read weren't by such a well-known author, though, so maybe that was it. The problem can be too many voices if it's not done right.

I've seen a movie though that I really liked that came from different points of view as it played out, so it was more or less starting over, but with other characters' points of reference. It was a thriller, though, and so it actually helped to further the story because you got new, pertinent information (along with some misdirection), rather than endless exposition about how a character felt about a situation.

I'm glad you were able to get back to the series. I'm sure the fact that the book is good lured you in again. :)

So when is book 6 coming out??? He did this with Dance of Dragons...it came out 3yrs after the release date. And the show really branched off in some areas. I haven't watched after season 5 because the last thing I read was Jon Snow was dead. That Rheagar did have a son by Elia that survived ...oh too much to ponder.

Even though I figured out a while ago who Jon Snow's parents are.

ya I wasn't going to keep watching the show but it is so different that the books now that I don't mind. Lady Stoneheart isn't in the shows she is coming back into the books. So people are going to play a larger roll in the books that in the show. But that is cause they can work people into the story in the books can't do that in the show the same way.

Game of Thrones is a good book. I haven't read this book and also I have not watched all of its seires.

Pertanyaan "Apa film atau buku favorit Anda dan mengapa?"

film favorit saya adalah "KAMUI GAIDEN" yang dirilis 19 september tahun 2009 lalu. kenapa saya suka? alasannya adalah orang yang menginginkan dari tempat latihan menjadi ninja dan ingin menjadi orang biasa saja. Namun aturan yang menerapkan sangat berat. yaitu siapa saja yang keluar dari kelompok ninja itu akan dibunuh. dan dia pun menjadi incaran para ninja lain untuk di bunuh. danlong dia menjadi seorang pendekar yang memperjuangkan kekuatan kebebasannya. inilah kecepatan yang masih terus saya ingat. begitu pula penghasilan videonya yang membuat saya tertarik hati.

The question "What is your favorite movie or book and why?"

My favorite movie is "KAMUI GAIDEN" which was released on 19 September 2009. why do i like it? the reason is because the main character is a child who wants to be free from training to become a ninja and wants to be an ordinary person. but the rules applied are very heavy. that is, anyone who leaves the ninja group will be killed. and he became the target of other ninja to kill. and finally he became a warrior who fought for the power of his freedom. this is the impression I still remember. so did the video taking that made me interested.

Posted using Partiko Android

That really does sound interesting. I haven't heard of that one yet. Sounds like a really inspiring story.

Oh yes. try to watch. surely you will say the same as I feel.

Posted using Partiko Android

I've read so many awesome books in my life and seen so many fabulous films it is hard to choose just one.
Although I'm a huge Stephen King fan, I think I'd rather go for the Earth Children's series, wfitten by Jean M. Auel.
Normally, I only read horror, and when someone first told me about these novels that were set in prehistoric Europe, I simply laughed at his face. No way in the world I would read that.
I don't know how come that I finally started reading them, but I was hooked from the 1st one ('The Clan Of The Cave Bear').
All books are well researched and well written. I read the first 5 one after another. The sixth one was only released 9 years after the fifth one, and I managed to pick up the story again like I had read the other ones a week before.

This is a series you definitely need to read - don't let the prehistoric theme stop you from doing so.

Liking the sound of the Clan of the Cave Bear. Sounds like something completely fresh.

I read a lot of Stephen King through my teenage years, although I managed to get to the end of them, there is a book by Graham Masterton that I had stop reading because I really didn't want to find out what was in the attic!

Also had phases of reading Wilbur Smith and particularly enjoy a good murder these days whether that be a cozy mystery like Agatha Raisin, or something more gritty like Luther.

You should really put your prejudice aside and give it a try. I'm sure you'll be pleasantly sursprised :0)

I didn't know there was a series of books. I was aware of the first one, and the movie with Darryl Hannah in it. Intriguing choice of books, coming from the self-described horror reader. :)

Lol. I think it's about the only thing outside the horror genre I have read (apart from some fantasy and the accidental thriller of which I thought it would be horror.) But they made a huge impact on me.

I didn't even know they ever made a movie. But then again, Daryll Hannah.... no wonder I missed it, lol

I haven't ever watched it either. Daryll Hannah is okay in some things, but mostly not so good in others, and just the little snippets I've seen of the movie, I'm not inclined to watch it. However, I am curious about the books now, since you like them so much. Not sure when I'll get to them (I've got a reading list myself to figure out time for eventually), but I think I should at least try and read the first book and see where it leads, right? :)

If you don't try, you'll never know :0)
I'm going to see if I can get my hands on the movie. It will probabaly be horrible, but you got me curious, lol

Nah, don't do that on my account. I think you can probably watch the entire movie on YouTube. That seemed to be the case when I went searching for it. I think it was something like 90 minutes long. If you get ten minutes in and you're just not feeling it, don't keep going. It won't be worth it. :)

I expect it to be hilarious, lol.
I'll let you know how it goes :0)

Wow what an awesome review as you have sold the series to me. i actually think im going to read these books. Nice share. Kudos

Glad you liked it

You know, mom, my favorite film is "tears of the sun" starred by Bruce Willis, there I can see how cruel the war is by a dictator general, then why do I like it so much ?, because of the great humanity of some soldiers in defend the rights of oppressed people, that's why I like it so much. the movie that you like that I never knew because I could not have been born at that time hehehe, but I think your taste is good also in entertaint, salute mom.

MOM !!!

the great humanity of some soldiers in defend the rights of oppressed people

A dictator general could never happen at that level here because he would be stopped way before.

I upvoted your post. Are you still confusing.

It's a great movie. Good choice.

I don't have a favorite book, but I have a favorite series. I love all of Terry Pratchetts Discworld Novels. I just love his writing style combined with his humour and pretty much everything about the discworld.

I read several of his books years ago, time for a re-read on them I think. Like you I do not have one single book I liked enough to call my "favorite" I do have a lot of books I like and call my favorite at one time or another, but one series (Trilogy) I re-read every year is W.M. Gear's Spider series. I like the concept of self responsibility and his concept of god in the story, plus it is just a very good read.

hey @kingdebasura.

I've heard a lot about Discworld, especially after Pratchett's death. I've yet to read them, but they sound like something I would enjoy. I did manage to read The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams, which is a similar combination of science fiction and humor, and just loved it. I guess I better get on it, right?

One of my favorite movies is Amelie. I love many things about it- the story, the characters (&actors), the vibrant colors in the cinematography, the music. But I especially love the fact that it reminds you how important the little things & moments are in life. It’s special and always makes me feel happy when I watch it.

Hi pyrowngs. I've seen it on Netflix, but have held off from watching it. By the way it sounds I need to.

Just be aware that it is in French and has subtitles. So, it demands your full attention. Happy watching!!

I don't mind that at all. Subtitles are better than dubbing, but you do miss a bit of the movie. I'll have to make time for it.

In watermelon sugar by Richard Brautigan, he's my hero

I will have to keep my eye out for that book in the used book stores, I read the wiki on it, and seems like it could be a good read, Dystopian future and end of the world books are some of the type I do enjoy.

Hey, @wales.

Another book I've never heard of, but Dystopian is pretty popular, and I've read some of it and watched more of it. Just what is the book about? It's got an intriguing name for Dystopian, too. In Watermelon Sugar. What does that mean?

You can only read the book to find out

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05