You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The STEEM "Shilling" Contest (Round 2) - 300 STEEM in prizes!!

in #steem6 years ago

Hi @timcliff, I posted an entry in @apolymask's Information Finding Championship about how we could use Listserve to promote Steem, but I don't think it was targeting the investors in particular. But it gave me the idea to reboot something that I tried in my early days on Steemit, which was to create a StackExchange site for Steem. You can see the full post here:
https://steemit.com/makesteemitgreat-again/@plushzilla/want-a-better-q-and-a-for-steemit-the-steem-stackexchange-site-has-been-proposed-on-area-51-again

I don't think it is particularly original, but as far as credibility is concerned I think it would be a pretty good initiative if we can get it up and running. It wouldn't even be about trying to win the contest as much as trying to get people to join and so we can get some questions and answers from the community rather than relying on just the Steemit team (because Steem is now a lot bigger than Steemit.com).

Let me know what you think :)

Sort:  

A StackExchange site for Steem would be amazing! I would definitely spend my time answering questions about nature, animals and biology if you get it up and running. Best of luck!

because Steem is now a lot bigger than Steemit.com

Absolutely! We must never forget that Steemit is just one of very many apps, and there are more apps every day.

Hi @valth, the StackExchange site that I am proposing would only be for Steem related questions and answers, but I noticed that there wasn't anything in particular on nature or animals (there is one for biology: https://biology.stackexchange.com/). I saw your many animal posts so I am also going to follow you and add you to my Steemitopia Network of Learning if you like sharing and teaching people about these topics :)

Ah, alright. I was kind of imagining a big "clone" StackExchange based on the Steem blockchain that would have questions for all topics. But a type for only Steem related questions would of course also be a nice project, just a bit different than I imagined ;) I guess that's what I get for not investigating the post you linked to! Hehe

Oh, that's great! I have never heard of Steemitopia Network of Learning before, but I will check it out :)

Well, that would be a pretty cool idea and maybe something for the @utopian-io people to look into?

Here's the link to SNL if you are interested: https://steemit.com/makesteemitgreat-again/@fibrefox/the-steemtopia-network-of-learning-update-connecting-people-and-ideas

Seems like a cool idea. Might be hard to fit into the scope of the contest though.

Actually, this made me think of another good idea...

Judging by some of the questions that I see on Quora about Steemit, it seems like many people are looking to either invest or earn some money from the rumours that they hear about it:

So maybe the best thing to do would be to answer questions on Quora to dispel some myths and misconception about Steemit, especially questions like this:

As someone of reasonable reputation on the platform, it can help build confidence for people who are skeptical or unsure about the platform to provide personal experiences not just as someone who is a user, but someone who also has good reputation in other areas/topics on Quora.

I think if more people who are on Steemit can do this then it becomes another good source of information for potential investors and users to consider.

Sounds good. Will you be doing this?

I posted that answer yesterday and it had 17 views so far:

Hopefully that's 17 more people that don't think Steemit is a scam :) I will look for more questions to answer as I come across them.

Under a different topic (Steem as a cryptocurrency) there are also some very relevant questions that investors would look at:

Cool, keep up the good work! If you have any more conversations before the contest ends, be sure to post details here.

42 views and one upvote now...

The other answer also did okay

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68706.20
ETH 3751.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76