You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Let's Talk About Witness Vote Buying and Selling

in #steem6 years ago

I am split on this really. One of the drawbacks I see to democracy is when those who want the fruits of others labor can outnumber them with votes to steal from them. I believe this was why the US was founded as a partial democracy tied to property ownership. Of course, at that time it was easier to gain property than it is today if one was willing to work their ass off.

Those with no skin in the game, or very little stake are more likely not to care about the long term viability of a system. While it is no guarantee that those with more skin in the game will care, it is more likely as they have more to lose.

Of course, the flip to this is when those who have more use that power to steal more from the masses.

Either way someone is getting screwed, lol. But here the nice thing is if they do this to such an extent as you see in countries, unlike in countries people will move on and those with large stakes will be left holding worthless stake. There is competition waiting to embrace those who are unhappy.

On a side note, thank you for resteeming my Steemit story and picking me to win your prize. That was really awesome, and I just did finish upvoting all the comments. It took me two days worth of voting power to wade through them all. :)

Sort:  

Great response. This is part is why I like the DPOS. We don't want brand new accounts that don't even understand Steem yet or the economy, making protocol changes.

In theory anyone who could buy a top 20 Witness Place, would have to have a huge amount of money invested. Which I hope would cause them to make good decisions. Although I am starting to question that with the Steem StakeHolders. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60609.50
ETH 3014.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90