You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Spent too long already thinking about a title so this will have to do

in #steem5 years ago

Hi m8. Titles are overrated anyway 😉

It's a strange thing, but I've found that it doesn't matter how much long considered content I put out in the creative writing fields at the moment, the engagement is small and fleeting. I'm not complaining, more concerned if I'm honest. The reason being, when whole tags are being ignored, what does this say about steem as a whole?

I started making vlogs last week and they got loads of engagement... fantastic some might say, just start making vlogs. But, to be honest, this is not a healthy thing for any content creator to have to do. In a healthy ecosystem someone wouldn't have to ditch creating what they're good at for something they're mediocre at best.

I'm not sure what any of this has to do with your post lol. I guess it feeds into what you're saying about needing to provide value with substantial posts. I feel like the writing posts I've made do provide that, yet the video content provides a lesser level of craft. But they are commented and voted on more.

I suppose what I'm saying is, while I'm not going anywhere, my confidence in steem has also taken a beating recently. But it's all about choice right? Just gotta make a choice to continue... or not. Or, maybe, learn a new skill of video making lol

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Right. I think many have joined with an idea of what they want to present, and ended up taking a different route. Clearly spending hours on something you enjoy only to receive little engagement is a bit of a let-down, but perhaps mixing this in with video content will slowly drive engagement on your favoured content.

I don't think now is the time to be too critical on the lack of eyes on your work and respect that you've opened out to a new niche to seek more engagement.

Confidence is low, STEEM is low, but it is 100% your choice on what to do next. Rack up a butt-load of cheap STEEM creating video content, become a chunky Orca and bring the masses to your texts with big comment up-votes? :D

I'll be completely honest. I've been pondering in my mind very seriously what to do in regards to my future on steem. And your comment, along with many other factors have helped build some clarity.

spending hours on something you enjoy only to receive little engagement is a bit of a let-down

It goes beyond that. In regards to the creative writing, I am devaluing something which I could be selling elsewhere for a much better return on my time and higher readership. Simple economics. I came to realize this over the last few weeks with this freelance writing work I've been doing. It has been well received and reasonable pay also. I'm not being negative, it's just the truth.

Rack up a butt-load of cheap STEEM creating video content, become a chunky Orca and bring the masses to your texts with big comment up-votes? :D

Ha ha, and here's where your words have helped Asher. Realities are realities. You're right. I'm going to be starting writing a novel soon and had already said I might vlog about the creative process.

Evolving is the way forward I think. + Becoming a vlogging dolphin/orca 😉

Posted using Partiko Android

Could you produce extracts of the freelance writing here? Or maybe some of the stuff that didn't quite make it to the other press?

Up to you though, if the vids are working here, and the writing elsewhere then it seems pretty clear on what to be doing :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63658.03
ETH 3299.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90