You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Difficult Steem Investment Debate - Inflationary vs Deflationary - Dive Into The Deep End Or Keep Wading In The Kiddie Pool?

in #steem5 years ago (edited)

I think that deep down you know... and it's a wait a bit and see type answer Matt.

Lol, not the usual 'blind optimism' of the steem cheerleader, but then I actually care and think about how steem can succeed.

I guess what I'm saying, and what my advice would be, is that it's only going to take 6 months maximum to see if the hardfork really changes things. I personally think that it's the positive changes we all know are needed which can turn steem around. So if you wait and see you can get in with a little less risk as things will be looking better before the price starts to rise cause BTC volume seems to be keeping all alts down.

I'm not sure what I'd do though if I had a large stack of BTC as steem is at a very low price. Also, it's very possible to buy big influence and higher earning potential by simply buying steem. Whereas it certainly isn't the case that consistently producing high quality content gets you either of these things on steem in my experience.

Ha ha, that's my 10 cents 🤣😉

Sort:  

Here's my 2 cents. Thanks for the advice. I'd personally kick myself to the curb if I messed with my long term holdings to reallocate heavily and it DIDN'T work out. However, it I didn't do anything substantial and Steem DID work out, I probably would be able to live with it since I don't think I'd be left empty-handed. I might need to settle on a little splash vs cannonball. The only thing I'd regret would be not being able to help others. I don't give a damn about rewarding myself unless I could use those gains to help others.

I might need to settle on a little splash vs cannonball. The only thing I'd regret would be not being able to help others.

Yeah, I get where you're coming from but helping people on here comes in many forms. Just sharing creative drive can be an amazing benefit of steem in my experience. I was hugely helped in the beginning by various people in the creative writing community. Also, I had a steem friend from Venezuela when I first started here 2 years ago and over my first 8 months I know that my consistent vote on his posts helped him massively as that was when steem mooned. Even my shity vote of a few cents stacked with others who helped him and he could buy food for his family etc.

This type of stuff, and having helped with a more structured steem charity called @projectgiving, is what makes me believe in steem as a potential platform for real change in this world. Anyway, I've allways said if I win the lottery I'd drop a million in steem just to see what happened here if someone (me) with millions of SP actually did things based on true proof of brain and altruistic intentions.

Lol, need to buy a lottery ticket 🤣

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61691.46
ETH 3047.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88