You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Important Changes to Steemit.com and Wallet

in #steem5 years ago (edited)

I thought this was a PHISH earlier. Had me asking around.Can't you use KEYCHAIN for this? Why does this feel so dirty?

Sort:  

If they are going to treat us like this, at least they should integrate keychain to both Steemit and Steemitwallet so we automatically use key with the lowest authority


You just planted 0.11 tree(s)!


Thanks to @ucukertz

We have planted already
8347.19 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 24742.87
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

Yeah man, um, I just found out that now that they have us using a fucking posting key for a wallet site, no one can get into their internal market... wow, just retarded...

Im glad I have vessel, the new wallet page doenst even work or send money, wow good job @ned again you showed your front end people seem to not even use steemit ... how can i go into my permission page now when its using a posting key, how can people even get their active key/ LOL this is a MESS

Yeah man, um, I just found out that now that they have us using a fucking posting key for a wallet site, no one can get into their internal market... wow, just retarded...

Im glad I have vessel, the new wallet page doenst even work or send money, wow good job @ned again you showed your front end people seem to not even use steemit ... how can i go into my permission page now when its using a posting key, how can people even get their active key/ LOL this is a MESS

I ride around with a dumb bitch (Steemit) Only cuz im stupid rich 9In steem-engine tokens

What the fuck is wrong with you @ned You just locked out Most of your own users from using the steemit wallet. Who the fuck is in charge if this update? Fire them immediately. Ned you have to hire from within if your incapable of finding anyone who even knows how steemit works. Youre just fucked up steemit in a CENTRALIZED way because you demand to keep stemit this nasty central front end so when it stops working, steem crypto currency ESSENTIAL stops working because most whales use steemut.com, you YOU ned REFUSE to do the work to actually fucking PROMOTE OFFICIALLY wallets like VESSEL which YOU SHOULD have made the OFFICIAL steem desktop wallet a LONG time ago YEARS ago but you are doing WHAT? WHO KNOWS

What the fuck is wrong with you @ned why are you so complacent? Dont you wonder why every other altcoin is up 20-30% and Steem started goinG DOWN today?

You can sign into the wallet with any of your keys, have you tried it? And as always, your active will be used to make transactions. :)

There is a suggestion in the box to log in with your "posting" key, I assume to get users in the habit of using it. Then when you go to complete a transaction that requires a higher key, it prompts you to do so.

I just went through the whole process to walk through it.. seems pretty straight forward, just something new we have to get used to.

So you can login to the wallet with your posting key also? I didn't try it (why should I if I want to retrieve rewards only? ;))

I think it's pushing users away from steemit.com and its wallet a little more.

You can log into the wallet with any key. The goal is to always use the lowest authority key possible on each action. So, you only need your posting key to login and see your wallet. If you attempt a transaction that requires a higher authority (as example a transfer) it simply prompts you to enter the specific key. It’s pretth straightforward but I’m sure will take some getting used to.

Um you can log in with a posting to to the wallet SURE but you cant SEND ANY STEEM or SBD unless you alrteady have your active key

Ive already been using vessel this whole time, i have 10 ways to use steem, im being agry for all the VOICLESS users who ARENT as adepted at steem as I am

You have ALWAYS needed your active key to SEND ANY STEEM and many other transactions. So, as someone who also tries to be the voice of the community and ensure the information is out there in a way they understand, I felt the need to correct your statement.. as it was incorrect.

Thanks for showing your distaste for facts by flagging my comment though.. it's clear you are only here to scream and give false information.

So sorry I interrupted, carry on.

Your comments arent even flaghged, what are you TALKING about

And you are UNAWARE that steemitwallet TOLD everyone to Login with POSTING KEYS ? And then Locks everyoen out who tris using teh PERMISSIONS PAGE?

ALSO you cant even click the BACK button! its like locked in like old school scam pages from google results that didnt let you click BACK button! whatkidna shit is that?

Do you even work officially for steemit inc? If you do why dont you have any more steempore than like me? What the hell why are YOU answering steemit incs questions doing THEIR job when you are just a volunteer? Why arent they actually Paying you or someone to be able to handle people like me?

I AM A NORMAL RESPONSE to this incompetence!

I live in california where we have STANDARDS in our Tech companies!

maybe @ned thinks being in Austin texas means hes in teh wild wild west?

EDIT: Ok i was just trolling to get drama tokens and push Steem to new levels

and it worked look steem uis up 15% finanlyy

cpome to the steemspeak.com discord and get FREE STEEM TIPS WOOOO

I forget that speaking to you is pointless 🙂 Apologies.

I’m aware of the actual facts and I explain it all in my post (which you left some super vital feedback on) and how to take care of any challenges they come across. I’m glad you aren’t having issues, I’m gonna go back to helping those that are. Tootles 👋

FBD9DBAB-DE74-49C3-87FF-71AE6857F5B4.jpeg

I cant sign in my password is saved in a browser extension that only works when its on steemit.com halp me how do I move chromes password autofill to the new website??

You will have to manually enter your password (or copy/paste) just as you did the first time you entered the steemit website. Then your browser will give you the option to save your password for the steemitwallet.com site, which you then can do for future use.

Let me know if you have any further questions. You can find me on discord, telegram etc with the same name.

@llfarms If I may ask? I have just gone into the wallet and logged in with my posting key. But there is no "Redeem" tag showing anymore?
What's next to do?
Regards!

Hey @papilloncharity! By "redeem" do you mean to claim your payout rewards? If so, you will still only need to be signed in with your posting key to do so. I just tested it to be sure. It might just be that you don't have any unclaimed currently. I see you have a post closing later today, possibly check back then?

Thank you so much for your kind help and I have managed to sort it out with the proper key. I tested the "redeem" and it worked fine!
Blessings!

I only have my wallet passwords saved in the password manager and no where else, can I copy it from there? Or am I just completely screwed with no notice!

You should be able to recover them on your side yes, and then I would suggest saving them in multiple places as well as using a password manager plugin possibly.

Ideas for keeping keys -

I don’t know which one you have been signing in with, so I don’t know what is saved in your browser, but once you have them all (Master, Owner, Active, Posting and Memo)

  • Label which is which (and what you need them for)

  • Save them to a pdf (if you enter your master in the Steemit site, a pdf will actually now be offered to you).

  • Print multiple hard copies and keep them in safe locations

  • Save pdf on a thumb drive and keep it safe

  • Use a password manager for daily use. (Ex. LastPass, 1password or keychain.)

Okay thanks for backup ideas but I don't have a clue how to get the passwords out of the browser to reuse :|

I just tried logging out of steemit and copying the ****** form of the password into the wallet login page and it does not work


Here's your DRAMA. Don't spend it all in one place!

To view or trade DRAMA go to steem-engine.com.

!dramatoken

Posted using Partiko Android

I just avoid the hassle, and use SteemPeak :D

I use vessel by @jesta (After of course changing te settings to add rpc.steemviz.com as the main RPC server thanks to @ausbitbank for without him Vessel just wouldn't even work.

Vessel? Another app?

uh yeah go google it github vessel by our own @jesta @vessel go look at its posts

The wallet site doesn't even have the same css so it was really confusing at least

I thought so too! (that's how I ended up here)

me too! Fancy seeing you here 🎶

Ya it felt like Phishing I had to do a double take

Fo real. I'm switching to Busy.org

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64143.01
ETH 3154.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86